1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Folding@home howto

Discussion in 'TOSAH Archive' started by rich99million, Dec 11, 2004.

  1. rich99million

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 26, 2002

    Posts: 9,348

    Location: Derbyshire

    good work donBerker :)
     
  2. Berserker

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Nov 4, 2002

    Posts: 15,431

    Location: West Berkshire

    Never mind that. Get it finished, then we can start work on a general DC FAQ (BOINC, Folding, TKC, etc.) :p

    BTW, I think the easiest way of doing that is one thread for each DC client in the archive, then a sticky that has the table of contents from each thread with appropriate links, plus general DC stuff. Works much better than one big thread, or lots of stickies. That is discussion for another thread though. Best leave this one for the folding FAQ. :)
     
  3. rich99million

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 26, 2002

    Posts: 9,348

    Location: Derbyshire

    thanks for the feedback - yes i know i have to finish it, life is getting more full in other areas and i'm slacking in some areas these days :eek:

    i will prioritise what i have left to get in here - mainly i think a bit on WHY? rather than how is needed quite badly at the top

    i shall get there in the end!!! :)
     
  4. metalguru

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 17, 2004

    Posts: 166

    Location: Folding in Staffordshire

    Bumpety, bump
     
  5. Berserker

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Nov 4, 2002

    Posts: 15,431

    Location: West Berkshire

    Stuck, to save the need from any more bumps. :)

    Still editable, so no excuse not to finish it. :p
     
  6. rich99million

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 26, 2002

    Posts: 9,348

    Location: Derbyshire

    nice work there don berserko :D


    yes i will finish it - all the activity recently has really spurred my interest and i'm even home this weekend :o so no excuses :p
     
  7. kinnison

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 15, 2005

    Posts: 250

    umm... how do i tell it to just use 50% CPU - I missed that on the initial setup unfortunately (service mode)
     
  8. rich99million

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 26, 2002

    Posts: 9,348

    Location: Derbyshire

    stop the service (right click My Computer and select "manage" etc) then make a shortcut to the client and add the -config flag to the end of the shortcut

    eg. "C:\Program Files\Folding@Home\winFAH.exe" -config

    then you can change the % usage in the advanced configuration

    I wouldn't reccomend it though as you'll get a lot less work done :p
    of course you may have your reasons - when i stealth installed on my brothers machine i set it to a max of 90% usage so that the other 10% would get most other things done without him even nmoticing a slight difference (very over-sensitive chap)

    oh and then restart the service/s
     
  9. matt1

    Mobster

    Joined: May 2, 2004

    Posts: 2,520

    Location: Nottingham

    I'd like to thank rich99million for the guide, I've began folding for the OcUK team and have just done my first WU and am @ 209th place. Could I ask how you get those neat little signatures? as I'd like one. :)
     
  10. rich99million

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 26, 2002

    Posts: 9,348

    Location: Derbyshire

    thanks for the feedback :)

    you can find the neat little signatures here and remember the signature rules here state a maximum size of 400x75

    welcome to the team :cool:
     
  11. matt1

    Mobster

    Joined: May 2, 2004

    Posts: 2,520

    Location: Nottingham

    ah, n1 :)

    edit: just setup my laptop, PIII 1.1GHz power :D
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2005
  12. Soogs

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 11, 2003

    Posts: 7,395

    Location: The Shadows (london)

    im back :D crunching that is
    central heating in my new room sucks ;)

    .... thats my excuse anyway :)
     
  13. rich99million

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 26, 2002

    Posts: 9,348

    Location: Derbyshire

    welcome back fella! :)
     
  14. dav1d

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Oct 4, 2003

    Posts: 650

    Reinstalling a Console Client From a Backup

    Before you begin: To be able to carry on folding with settings, WU count and log from a previous installation, you will first need to backup your F@H folder (wherever you installed it - usually C:\Program Files\Folding@Home) before it is deleted/you wipe your HD.

    I also recommend creating a backup of the registry settings for the service. To do this, go to Start->Run and type regedit. Navigate to HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services and right click on the F@H folder. Then choose Export, save it to a suitable place and back it up. Do this for any other clients you may have installed.

    Restoring your backup: Copy the F@H folder you backed up to where you want it to be (usually C:\Program Files\Folding@Home). To install the service, you will need to run the configuration again by running the executable with the -configonly flag.

    To do this, the easiest method is navigate to the folder with the F@H executable in (named FAH502-Console in my installation), right click and choose Create Shortcut. Right click on the newly created shortcut, choose Properties, and under the Shortcut tab, modify the target by adding -configonly to the end, outside the speech marks. Now you can run the program with this shortcut, answering the questions in the configuration, and the Windows service will be installed.

    If you have backed up your registry settings for the service as well, navigate to your .reg backup file, and double-click it. This will restore the settings to the registry.

    Hopefully, you'll be able to carry on folding as before like nothing's changed :D
     
  15. tuboflard

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 19, 2005

    Posts: 107

    Iv done what you said for the HT procesors with the 2 consoles, but and put the thing on the end:

    C:\Program Files\Folding@Home\Console-2\FAH502-Console.exe -forceasm -verbosity 9

    But it dosn't start withup automaticly, also when i try start it i get:

    Error 1053: The service did not respond to start or control request in a timely fashion.

    Also before I knew you could set it up for duel, i just did a single console in a diff folder, how can I uninstall this fully
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2005
  16. tuboflard

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 19, 2005

    Posts: 107

    Ok nm, i restored to a restore point and reinstalled, and it all works gd
     
  17. rich99million

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 26, 2002

    Posts: 9,348

    Location: Derbyshire

    ooops sorry mate i didn't see your post - i forget to check the end of the sticky, best to post in a new thread really

    glad you got it sorted though :)
     
  18. KillBait

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 13, 2005

    Posts: 214

    Location: Northants, U.K.

    How about F@H on USB Pen Drive, link here

    Mini bootable linux install, Not tried it myself.
     
  19. rich99million

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 26, 2002

    Posts: 9,348

    Location: Derbyshire

    it's along similar lines to the one that KE1HA spotted a while back - i've added it anyway as people can choose which suits them best :)
     
  20. Creature

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 30, 2004

    Posts: 3,755

    Location: Oop North

    Ok, F@H is installed, but it says "Attempting to get work packet" when I hover over the little red cog. How long is this supposed to take as it's been about 5 minutes now?

    Edit: Never mind now, it's up and running now, should have my first WU by this afternoon.
     
    Last edited: Oct 31, 2005