1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Folding@Home Weekly Team News - 2nd September 2005

Discussion in 'TOSAH Archive' started by rich99million, Sep 5, 2005.

  1. Staffy

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 265

    Location: Staffs Moorlands

    Ooooo in the news :)

    Haven't been in a news post for a loooong time.

    My my main rig has been off since 6ish as the temps were getting waaay too high so gave it a clean out!

    Put it all back together and now I have a problem with the northbridge fan making a right racket and vibrating so that'll have to be turned off until I get a replacement. It was stopped when I took the cover off the case :eek:

    On the bright side I have managed to put another rig together only a old sdr Athlon but t'is better than nothing. That should be up tomorrow, gotta sleep.

    Staffy
     
  2. NeedleGunner

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 27, 2004

    Posts: 2,242

    Location: Wigan

    An8 SLI mobo is it?? Mine did the same ages ago, I just unplugged it :)

    Until I got my WC kit, which by the way was a load of rubbish! Load temps of 70C :eek: :eek:
     
  3. chronicfathead

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 13, 2005

    Posts: 102

    Location: Sleaford, Lincs, England,

    Thanks for the warm welcome.

    So far the wife has not complained that my PC is on 24/7, even though the "IT" room is in the mid 30's!.

    Would it be cheeky to use F@H on a friends PC while it's in for repair?

    I might need to extensively test it for a week or so, purely to test it for overheating problems!

    Chronicfathead
     
    Last edited: Sep 6, 2005
  4. rich99million

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 26, 2002

    Posts: 9,348

    Location: Derbyshire

    hehe welcome :)

    Whilst the machine is in your care i see no problem at all with running Folding@Home on it, a far more thorough stress test than Prime95 (though maybe not as easy to troubleshoot). Once the machine goes back to him you would really need permission otherwise you invalidate the Stanford License Agreement which states you need permission to run it.

    Of course how you word the "request" is totally up to you :D
    I favour the whispering round the corner from them and then waiting to see if they have any objections :p