Fried Motherboard? :(

Associate
Joined
17 Nov 2011
Posts
335
Hey,

Earlier on today I installed an extra 8gb stick of vengeance ram into my computer. Since then my computer would start running (CPU fan, GPU fan and case fans) but no video on my monitor and also noticed that the pulsating q led light on my ASUS B450M motherboard was no longer pulsing, its just a solid light. My keyboard will light up when I turn the computer on, but my mouse won't. I've looked on various forums and from what I've read it sounds like a fried board? I looked on the board for 'burnt like marks' and couldn't see anything or smell any burning when I opened the case.

I just don't know what to do from here. I did try taking out the new ram stick I'd just installed, but that still didn't work... Have I accidentally fried the board?
 
Last edited:
Associate
OP
Joined
17 Nov 2011
Posts
335
Spec?

Were the memory matched pairs and matched pairs to the original sticks?

For now leave the sticks out and reset the CMOS - unplug computer from the wall, press the power button for a few seconds to deplete all power and then either reset CMOS via pins (or motherboard button if you have one) or remove the battery for 10 minutes.

Once done test for life...

Ryzen 5 2600 Stock
ASUS Prime B450M-K
GTX 1060 6GB
2x8GB Corsair Vengeance RAM
120GB Kingston SSD
WD Blue 1TB HDD
600w Corsair PSU

I had 1x8GB stick for about a year, then added the exact same make and model of RAM with the same MHz and then this all happened... No idea how you take a battery out of a motherboard. This will be my first time doing it, but I'll give it a shot.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
17 Nov 2011
Posts
335
Try another quick CMOS reset - follow instructions to the letter:
  • unplug computer from the wall
  • press the case power button for a few seconds to deplete all power
  • Look for the pins labelled CLRTC
  • and then briefly touch the two pins (+3v and GND) with a screw driver (shorting them - clearing cmos))
  • plug pc back in
  • power on and hit delete if it powers on..
Test away...

Success!!!! I'm now in the BIOS
 
Associate
OP
Joined
17 Nov 2011
Posts
335
Check that the sticks match - look at stickers.


You could to test the new stick on it's own.

Replace the original stick with the new one and see what happens. (Be sure PSU is switched off - deplete power before installing)

Worse case scenario is that you have to clear the CMOS again.

*quick question first, what is the spec of of the memory?

Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 8GB 2400MHz

Its the exact same stick of ram with the same MHz and everything. No idea why it caused that issue.

And btw, I know 2400MHz isn't perfect for ryzen and it'd run faster with 3000MHz ram, but it's all I could afford for the time being and I'm only running games at 1080p anyways
 
Last edited:
Associate
OP
Joined
17 Nov 2011
Posts
335
Right, so I've got both sticks in and it's actually running now.

You're correct. It seems I've bought a 16, the other being 14. Both have totally different timings. Will it still be okay to run without any issues? Or will it cause issues while gaming?

I just looked in the BIOS one stick is running 2400Mhz and the other is running at 2133Mhz
 
Associate
OP
Joined
17 Nov 2011
Posts
335
You need to either RMA the memory and get a matched pair - or manually set the memory CAS 14 memory to the CAS 16 timing and run them at 2400MHz (Or whack 1.35V through both sticks and run at CAS 14 - agian manually adjusting timings to match - would probably work).

That said - I think you will be more comfortable swapping the stick for a CAS 14 stick to match your present stick - as then all you need to do is set the XMP in the BIOS - one simple setting adjustment and then F10 job done.

I think I might just RMA and wait until I have a little more disposable income and get a 3000Mhz kit

Meanwhile, what's the difference between 14 and 16 anyway? Is one faster than the other or..?
 
Associate
OP
Joined
17 Nov 2011
Posts
335
No discernible difference in real world terms (CAS 14 faster)...

You could get both sticks working at 2400MHz - just needs setting up manually within the BIOS, it's not difficult - using the manual and google... (haven't got time to talk you through your BIOS at the moment)

If you do aim for simplicity/ease: set both sticks running at 2400MHz @ 1.2V and CAS 16 16 16 31 timings. Basically, you match the lower sticks spec.

Thanks for the tip, but yeah, that's not exactly something I have time for right now either!
I'll give it a shot tomorrow, I'm sure I'll figure it out with a little help from Google :)

Thanks for your help
 
Back
Top Bottom