GIT for personal use?

Soldato
Hey all,

As a programming student I am constantly switching between working on my laptop, desktop, uni computer.

I was thinking of setting up a git for myself though i have no knowledge of it and just started reading a git pro book on train yesterday. It looks complicated but am sure its not as bad as looks and would be invaluable down the line in team projects/real world work.

So is git a good idea for sharing between my laptop and desktop and what would be the best way of setting it up? Should i keep a repo on my usb stick? Or use an online thing like bitbucket? I just want to ensure that i can work primarily on my desktop, but switch laptop on/at uni and carry on working with minimal fuss.

Thanks for any tips/advice.

Soldato
One advantage of Bitbucket over GitHub is that you can have unlimited private repos for free, whereas you have to pay for any on GitHub. Could be something to consider if it's not code you want to have on-show. Git is pretty easy to use, at least on a basic level (you can do some nifty stuff with it as you learn the more advanced features). :)

Soldato
If you are using visualstudio then have you considered team foundation service. I use this as my prefered sourcesafe/ project management repository. It is free to use at the moment.

you can use either tfs or git as the source control solution under the hood. I use tfs myself. Purely as I am more familar with it's features.

GeX

GeX

Soldato
Just to throw another out there, Gitlab.

I recently migrated our company over to using git, and to mimic what our SVN based system had there was a call for a 'central point'. I setup a gitlab instance on a spare machine and we all push to that.

If you signup on gitlab.com, then you can use their hosted version - I think the only restrictions lie in how many people you can add to a team.. I can't remember exactly.