1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Going from normal SIM to Micro SIM - HTC One X

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones & Tablets' started by azibux1, Apr 23, 2012.

  1. azibux1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 11, 2011

    Posts: 2,173

    Location: UK

    This is in relation to this thread.

    Hi,

    I am getting a HTC One X and currently have a BB Bold 9900

    The BB uses a standard SIM whereas the HTC requires a Micro-SIM

    My question is, what is the best option for me to transfer my contacts from the standard SIM to a Micro-SIM?

    I want to keep the same mobile number as I have now

    Hope you can help :)
     
  2. Robbo

    Don

    Joined: Jan 2, 2009

    Posts: 49,240

    Google contacts is generally the best way to go about this sort of thing, however, I'm not sure if you can create Google contacts on the 9900.

    I know you can download Google contacts to it so maybe look into that. If you can get them uploaded to there, they'll all appear when you put your gmail address into your new Android phone.

    This may be useful: http://www.google.com/mobile/sync/
     
  3. azibux1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 11, 2011

    Posts: 2,173

    Location: UK

    Thanks, I will check that out now :)
     
  4. Glaucus

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Mar 11, 2004

    Posts: 72,929

    Just cut the sim down, zero hassle. Print out template, get pair of scissors. job done.
     
  5. azibux1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 11, 2011

    Posts: 2,173

    Location: UK

    Is it that easy?

    I heard you could break the SIM easily?
     
  6. Robbo

    Don

    Joined: Jan 2, 2009

    Posts: 49,240

    It depends really, some SIM's are better than others and you do end up cutting a pretty fine line. :p
     
  7. Em3bbs

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 26, 2011

    Posts: 2,983

    Location: City of London

    Not really the best suggestion if his only place he has his contacts stored is the SIM card.
     
  8. azibux1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 11, 2011

    Posts: 2,173

    Location: UK

    This.

    As I can't back them up using BB software, as my new phone is a HTC, I'd rather do it a safer way, lol
     
  9. azibux1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 11, 2011

    Posts: 2,173

    Location: UK

    Just looking at that video, doesn't say that it works with Android though?
     
  10. reflux

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 15, 2007

    Posts: 12,270

    Location: Elephant

    The cutting option is easy peasy tbh. My sim works perfectly in my One X and Galaxy Nexus.
     
  11. azibux1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 11, 2011

    Posts: 2,173

    Location: UK

    Just looked at another website and it says that Google Sync will work with BB and Android

    So to be on the safe side I think I will do that

    Now just need to ring O2 and ask them to send me a micro-SIM with my current number :D
     
  12. Glaucus

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Mar 11, 2004

    Posts: 72,929

    It really is that easy and it's hard to brake it. Unless of course you cut the big clear brass coloured chip. But why would you do that.
    Far less hassle than getting new sim. And he can also save numbers to existing phone and sim in a couple if seconds. So it's not the only place his numbers are. Or google sync it, then cut sim.
     
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2012
  13. Robbo

    Don

    Joined: Jan 2, 2009

    Posts: 49,240

    It doesn't need to work with Android as Android has it all natively. I assume it will just sync your contacts to your Gmail account and then they are all there - sorted.
     
  14. daz87uk

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 30, 2008

    Posts: 916

    Location: Newquay

    save contacts to phone; send Vcard?
     
  15. azibux1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 11, 2011

    Posts: 2,173

    Location: UK

    I see what you're saying, but this phone is a replacement for my BB 9900, so that is being taken back, I won't have them both at any one time so can't do what you're saying about saving them to my current phone as that would not help me

    Yeah I realised that afterwards, oops lol

    It sounds like a good idea, will try it out soon and see if it backs them up properly (Y)
     
  16. azibux1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 11, 2011

    Posts: 2,173

    Location: UK

    Tried to use Google Sync

    It done a few contacts (13 of 73) but now it says 'Sync Failed. Server problem. Please try again later'

    Tried this about 3 times but still isn't working

    Also, seems odd that the 13 that is has done, are contacts I've added AFTER I have got this phone, the others that were on my SIM before have not worked

    Am I doing something wrong?
     
  17. Rizwan1

    Associate

    Joined: Nov 30, 2011

    Posts: 36

    If you've got a steady hand just cut your sim down to size.
     
  18. azibux1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 11, 2011

    Posts: 2,173

    Location: UK

    I might do this, as it would be easiest and quickest, but I want them backed up somewhere before I do that, and can't use Blackberry Desktop Manager to do that because my new phone is a HTC
     
  19. azibux1

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 11, 2011

    Posts: 2,173

    Location: UK

    Then again I want to just get it done properly if I can, get a micro sim and transfer numbers
     
  20. Rizwan1

    Associate

    Joined: Nov 30, 2011

    Posts: 36

    You can get a special hole punch device that can trim your sim card with precision. It depends on which sim card you currently have. Also you can get adapters to convert a micro sim into a normal sim (basically a jacket for the sim card). If your on o2 go into the store and they'll do it for you (ttansfer contacts, not cut the sim)
     


Share This Page