Going Self employed

dsb

dsb

Associate
I have a few questions about going self employed specifically joining an LLP.

First of I have no clue so if you need an answer to a question please ask.

I’m a HGV driver and the company wants us to move over to LLP which in its self is a mine field.

I am on a salary of 33k plus bonus and take home about 40k before taxes.

Going self employed can I claim the following.

Return to my place of work 1 way there park car for 3 nights 1 way back, about 40 miles each way.

We have been told that we will remain on the same salary but the saving on NI contributions will go back into the company, is this legal. (We will get the same money if we go LLP or remain PAYE) is this legal.

All our taxes will be managed by a 3rd party. But is there a charge for me to be self employed?

I have lots of questions but I see no benefit to me to do this. Am I missing something.

Associate
Basically the company want to offload you as an employee and you will effectively become a freelancer. As an employee the company would pay you and deduct PAYE and NI at source. As a freelancer this would become your responsibility as you are paid gross. Your employer would then not have to pay their NI contribution (in addition to what you pay) which is what I am assuming they are repatriating back into the company.

In terms of using a outside company to calculate your tax and NI, you'll need to ask them direct.

As a freelancer I assume you'll lose certain employment rights such as sick, holiday and new mandatory pension pay.

Associate
As Thecaferacer said, you'll loose holiday pay, sick pay and and company pension contributions. Your pay actually goes down as if you want four weeks holiday over the course of the year you're only then earning 48 weeks of salary.

Also if they want to get rid of someone it's much easier if you're self employed.

This move is clearly a benefit for the company not you.

Don