1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Good Cheap Server - HP Proliant Microserver 4 BAY - OWNERS THREAD

Discussion in 'Servers and Enterprise Solutions' started by dragonuk, Dec 10, 2010.

  1. moss

    Soldato

    Joined: Nov 1, 2002

    Posts: 6,487

    Location: South Shields

    You can use RAID 5 or RAID Z (if you use an OS that supports) it offers both. If a drive dies it can rebuild the data when a new drive is installed in place of the one that has died.
    I personally wouldn't rely on this alone for redundancy purposes though.
     
  2. Simpic

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 3, 2009

    Posts: 167

    As others have said, RAID5 or RAID Z. Also check out UnRAID.

    You can use the CD ROM bay by fitting an Icybox. Have a Google and you will find the right part. I have a 2TB drive in there and a 2.5 inch underneath it as well. Six drives in total.

    Regards,

    Simpic
     
  3. TurGe

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 4, 2004

    Posts: 82

    Ok Raid 5 it will probably be then, I am probably going to try 2008R2 Standard or maybe a linux variant, looking through all the threads is just mind blowing as to which way to go, don't suppose anyone has done a how too guide for a few different variations dependent on what you are trying to accomplish.
     
  4. TurGe

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 4, 2004

    Posts: 82

    Yahh I have read a couple of your posts not really sure I need 6 drives to be honest, just thought it would be a good idea to use the 4 bay as the NAS/Storage and a separate drive as the OS
     
  5. moss

    Soldato

    Joined: Nov 1, 2002

    Posts: 6,487

    Location: South Shields

    Depending on what you want to do, FreeNAS is free and is pretty good. It has a web interface and supports RAID Z.
     
  6. TurGe

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 4, 2004

    Posts: 82

    Just want to be able to store
    Photos
    MP3
    video
    Itunes
    Download using NZB Client
    Stream to xbox 360
     
  7. ubern00b

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 25, 2004

    Posts: 3,679

    Anyone done a 6 x 2TB unRAID build? I assume there is no space for a 6th 3.5" hard drive internally but you could use an external eSATA enclosure?
     
  8. chenko

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 3,883

    There is a 3.5" sized "bay" underneath, but access is limited and would require you to reroute the power connectors for the drives below.

    You can just use an eSATA as you mention.
     
  9. TurGe

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 4, 2004

    Posts: 82

    Just for anyone still unsure the deal is on the HP site is now up to date HP Site
     
  10. AbsenceJam

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 2, 2007

    Posts: 4,304

    The most recent hacked BIOS, so not the very larest HP one. Running W7.

    Didn't have to do anything special to make it work.
     
  11. Al Vallario

    Mobster

    Joined: Aug 3, 2005

    Posts: 4,534

    Location: UK

    Very frustrating. Can't get any sign of the eSATA port working; both 2.5" and 3.5" drives, both old and new BIOS hacks, both 160GB and 250GB model MicroServers... no eSATA at all.

    Beginning to think it might be my eSATA->SATA cable, although I have no means of testing it. Either way, I've got my PCIe RAID card winging its way to me now so that should remove the need for all this kerfuffle :o
     
  12. fish

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 28, 2003

    Posts: 654

    Location: Loughborough

    SNAP

    i have just taken the drive out of my lappy, no joy. Then taken the one from my external hdd, no joy. I have complained to the people who supplied my esata cable and they sent out a new one, still no joy. Seriously i am running out of hair and am loath to by an esata enclosure if it wont work.

    edit: just tested cables with a multimeter and they appear to be electrically sound.
     
    Last edited: Jun 1, 2011
  13. DIABLO

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 5,429

    Location: N.Devon

    It is possible to get 2 3.5" in the OD bay there is a guy on another forum who made up some brackets so he could mount one on top of each other.

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/14738494-post576.html
     
  14. Rudeboy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 1,218

    Location: Melbourne Australia

    The most recent BIOS has also been hacked, so no reason not to use it. I'm running the latest hacked BIOS and can access my Nexstar external eSATA hard drive dock without problem.

    Details of the latest BIOS are here;
    http://forum.wegotserved.com/index....t-microserver/page__view__findpost__p__104539
     
  15. howamidifferent

    Associate

    Joined: May 31, 2011

    Posts: 11

  16. JC

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 10, 2003

    Posts: 5,766

    Location: Surrey

    Can you post a link to that please
     
  17. Cstark

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 26, 2004

    Posts: 115

    Location: Kent

    Offer extended till end of June now, though the usual place are currenty out of stock...
     
  18. Rudeboy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 1,218

    Location: Melbourne Australia

    Well, a quick search on hp.com still shows me the revision O41A BIOS dated 2nd April 2011 that I linked to in my previous post.

    Where are you seeing a more recent BIOS? is it a beta?

    It's also not 4 months old. You're aware that Americans list dates different to what we do right? Look at the dates on the other BIOS's below to compare.

    *edit*
    Sorry, I see what you mean. I didn't realize the USB link was a BIOS as I never used it. I just downloaded the latest BIOS from hp.com and applied the same files listed in the hack. Worked fine for me.
     
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2011
  19. Ozymandias

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 14, 2002

    Posts: 656

    Location: West Midlands

    Latest Bios Here dated 02.04.2011
     
  20. ubern00b

    Mobster

    Joined: Nov 25, 2004

    Posts: 3,679

    So you can confirm you used BIOS:

    2011.04.02 (A) (27 May 2011)

    With the hack from wegotserved.com and it works?