1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Google Pixel 6

Discussion in 'Mobile Phones & Tablets' started by BMox81, 14 May 2021.

  1. d smith

    Associate

    Joined: 23 Nov 2021

    Posts: 17

    Location: barking

    i am on EE and got 0% signal in the underground in London
     
  2. gpuerrilla

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Jul 2005

    Posts: 14,997

    Location: N.Ireland

    I think EE do an 'underground wifi' addon. In fact just checked its there.
     
  3. d smith

    Associate

    Joined: 23 Nov 2021

    Posts: 17

    Location: barking

    yep, i have it as an add on and i still got 0 coverage
     
  4. AndyCr15

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Apr 2011

    Posts: 12,401

    Location: Barnet, London

    Am I missing something? Do some carries have a signal underground these days?
     
  5. xb8browney

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 May 2005

    Posts: 6,587

    It's WiFi AFAIK.
     
  6. reflux

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Nov 2007

    Posts: 12,991

    Location: Enfield

    Yeah, most carriers have an agreement with the WiFi service available in stations, but it's easier to get on the network with some carriers than others. When I was on EE, I could just authenticate through the Virgin Media portal, but with O2 I have to connect to 'WiFi Extra' and use my SIM as authentication.

    Anyway, if you're connected to the WiFi and you have WiFi calling switched on, you should be able to make calls from underground. And it will show you as having some signal, though really it's just WiFi if that makes sense.
     
    Last edited: 30 Nov 2021
  7. Orcvader

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Oct 2009

    Posts: 14,929

    Location: Greater London

    Wifi won't show up as coverage. It will show up as wifi just like when you connect to it at home. You have to connect to the Virgin wifi and authenticate through the captive portal. Even then, the wifi is only at stations, not on the trains or line itself, meaning when the train is moving between stations you won't get any wifi signal.

    It's still rubbish though, some stations it's very unreliable due to congestion so I hardly bother with it any more.

    There's a universal 4G network all carriers share on the Jubilee line between Westminster and Canning Town, and so far I've had no issues with it. Shame the other lines still have nothing yet...
     
  8. AndyCr15

    Capodecina

    Joined: 28 Apr 2011

    Posts: 12,401

    Location: Barnet, London

    All good stuff to know, thanks. I've not commuted on the tube for about 9 years now... I'm with EE, so I guess next time I'll just try and connect to WiFi.
     
  9. Orcvader

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Oct 2009

    Posts: 14,929

    Location: Greater London

    I was wondering why I wasn't that impressed with the 700 headphones then I realised the Bose Music app was kicking the headphones into LE mode. Uninstalled the app, repaired the headphones and it sounds much better. I lose out on things like ANC and equaliser controls but I already have those set to my preferred settings before removing the app.

    My Sony XMS3 earbuds was also coming up as LE after I paired the 700 so I wonder if it was somehow affecting it.
     
  10. muon

    Capodecina

    Joined: 8 Nov 2006

    Posts: 20,952

    Location: London

    Got the Pixel 6 today. Damn it is a heavy phone.
     
  11. reflux

    Capodecina

    Joined: 15 Nov 2007

    Posts: 12,991

    Location: Enfield

    Yeah it's a beast. And that's the 'small' one.
     
  12. Rimsy

    Soldato

    Joined: 13 Sep 2008

    Posts: 5,019

    Hopefully the "new" trend next year will be for lightweight phones not constructed from that incredibly rare and premium material known as glass....
     
  13. kona786

    Capodecina

    Joined: 25 Jun 2007

    Posts: 18,708

    Location: Downtown

  14. Noxia

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 30 Dec 2010

    Posts: 9,445

    Location: Wiltshire

    Got £230 for my headphones which I was happy with.
     
  15. d smith

    Associate

    Joined: 23 Nov 2021

    Posts: 17

    Location: barking

    I saw an article that one plus has applied for a patent or something for a triple folding phone. Think folding phones will be back in style haha!! I hope not to be replacing the pixel 6pro for at least 2 or 3 years
     
  16. xb8browney

    Soldato

    Joined: 19 May 2005

    Posts: 6,587

    Impressive
     
  17. _Jimlad_

    Capodecina

    Joined: 5 Jun 2005

    Posts: 20,307

    Location: Southampton

    Hope it was not a friend !

    Good price!
     
  18. tom_e

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 26 Dec 2003

    Posts: 28,373

    Location: Shropshire

    If it was they aren't any more :D
     
  19. Dirk Diggler

    Capodecina

    Joined: 6 Jan 2013

    Posts: 17,833

    NVM, misread the post :o
     
    Last edited: 1 Dec 2021
  20. gpuerrilla

    Capodecina

    Joined: 21 Jul 2005

    Posts: 14,997

    Location: N.Ireland

    Haha, no Christmas card for you!