GPU & CPU Installation Advice - Must Dos/Donts

Associate
Tomorrow I am replacing my current 1060 GPU with a brand new RTX 3070ti and replacing my Razen 5 2600 with a 5600.

I have little experience when it comes to builds and upgrades so would appreciate any pointers/steps on replacing a GPU and CPU.

Anything around must dos or donts? Anything around thermal paste for the CPU or upgrading/setting up the BIOS after the installs? Static wristband a must? Uninstalling the old drivers and installing the new?

I’m a little bit worried about messing it up especially with the money I’ve spent so any advice is appreciated!

Associate
Each individual step is not too hard so just do it 1 step at a time.

Step 1 - Check bios version. CPUZ when downloaded and installed is easy way to check this. If you are not on BIOS F62 then update to this version. That bios may not be compatable with the 2600 so do not panic if the pc does not boot once bios is updated. Will be instructions on the Gigabyte website , and in your mobo manual , on how to update your bios.

Step 2 - Turn power off at psu unit and then hold down power button for 30 secs. All LED lights should go off on mobo. Touch a radiator if you are paranoid about static.

Step 3 - Remove gpu. Unscrew , unclip , remove pcie power cables and then remove from case. I would not put the new gpu back in just yet.

Step 4 - Remove cpu cooler. Depends on what one you have. The stock ryzen cooler just unclips iirc so should be easy. If the cooler seems to be stuck then wriggle a bit but do not try to pull it out or you can rip the cpu out of the socket and something may get damaged. If the PC still boots after the bios update then pull the fan header out and boot up the pc for 30secs or so, this will warm up the thermal interface material and make the heatsink easier to remove.

Step 5 - Clean old thermal gunk off then remove cpu from socket. Or remove from socket then clean , no real difference.