1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
  2. Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

    Dismiss Notice

Graphics Card Or Processor

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Memnoch, 7 May 2006.

  1. Memnoch

    Associate

    Joined: 19 Jan 2006

    Posts: 29

    I have a AMD 64 3000+ and an nvidea 6600GT, and have been considering upgrading my graphics card to one of the 7900GT cards. Would I be better off upgrading my CPU before doing this, as it is also quite out of date and I think it would hold my graphics card back a lot if I upgraded.
     
  2. sunlitsix

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Oct 2004

    Posts: 11,029

    Location: Stoke on Trent

    is the cpu overclocked?
     
  3. Memnoch

    Associate

    Joined: 19 Jan 2006

    Posts: 29

    Yep but not by much only from 1.8GHz to 1.98GHZ. I was thinking of overclocking it a bit more, but never really got there. I only have a retail heatsink and fan, but Im sure I could overclock it by another 0.20-0.30GHz.
     
  4. Defcon5

    Soldato

    Joined: 4 Sep 2005

    Posts: 6,423

    Location: Whitwood, West Yorks

    Id say it would reach 2.4 at least.

    With 1.44v mione does 2.6, 2.8 with 1.6v
     
  5. Memnoch

    Associate

    Joined: 19 Jan 2006

    Posts: 29

    Sweet, Ill give that a go now :D
     
  6. sunlitsix

    Capodecina

    Joined: 27 Oct 2004

    Posts: 11,029

    Location: Stoke on Trent

    myn does 2.5Ghz with 1.5v, a 7900GT wouldnt be that bottlenecked when the cpu is overclocked more
     
  7. Jenks

    Associate

    Joined: 3 May 2006

    Posts: 8

    heres a calculator to help work out things with some helpfull info aswell.
    http://www.blurbdesigns.com/OcCalc/calc.htm
    Graphics card is more important when gaming your cpu overclocked should be fine for a 7900GT for real world gaming.
     
  8. Memnoch

    Associate

    Joined: 19 Jan 2006

    Posts: 29

    Ok my computer is stable at 2.5GHz under load. Any further increce in FSB creates minor instability, however this could be fixed if my mobo allowed me to set my V-core higher than 1.55v.

    Do you think I should bother trying to flash my bios, or is my processor decent enough for the 7900GT?
     
    Last edited: 8 May 2006
  9. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 29,093

    Location: Rutland

    What motherboard have you got mate?

    I'd definately upgrade the GFX first, that CPU at 2.5Ghz should provide enough horsepower :)
     
  10. Memnoch

    Associate

    Joined: 19 Jan 2006

    Posts: 29

    Ive got an Asus A8N Sli Deluxe mobo, which I thought would enable be to raise my Vcore a bit higher than 1.55V
     
  11. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 29,093

    Location: Rutland

    I think you mean 1.55V mate, 5.5V would be killing every CPU in sight.
     
  12. Memnoch

    Associate

    Joined: 19 Jan 2006

    Posts: 29

    Yep sorry I edited it before you posted lol :D
     
  13. Darkwave

    Capodecina

    Joined: 25 Oct 2005

    Posts: 13,779

    Definitely upgrade the graphics card first, you'll be surprised at how long that CPU will actually last you. I was planning to go dual core recently, but overclocking my CPU a slight bit (only 200MHz) has breathed a whole new life into it. :)

    I'll be upping it a lot more too as I have an Arctic Freezer 64 arriving tomorrow or Tuesday, anyone who says overclocking doesn't make a difference is on some sort of crazy drugs. ;)
     
  14. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 29,093

    Location: Rutland

    You're right though, 1.55V is a poxy max Vcore, have you read around to see if a BIOS update gets you anymore (I would offer but I need some sleep).
     
  15. Memnoch

    Associate

    Joined: 19 Jan 2006

    Posts: 29

    Humm looking at the BIOS update I dont think it will help me, but if someone would like to confirm that I would be glad.
     
  16. Goody_GTI

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Mar 2006

    Posts: 2,523

    Location: Nottingham

    Dont think so, i had the original 1002 bios i got with the board and was running my 3500 at 1.6v fine until i updated the bios to the latest version and now it wont let me go above 1.55v :(
     
  17. Memnoch

    Associate

    Joined: 19 Jan 2006

    Posts: 29

    Why would they do that, its pure evil :mad: I hope they relese another update to fix this, because the board was supposed to be good for overclocking.
     
  18. Street

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Jan 2005

    Posts: 8,180

    Location: Liverpool

    But hes only got the retail heatsink... I wouldn't like to go over 1.55V with my SI-120 let alone a retail heatsink.
     
  19. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 29,093

    Location: Rutland

    Maybe I'm just brave :D I would go upto 1.6-1.65V on an SI-120 as long as temps were under control.
     
  20. Street

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 17 Jan 2005

    Posts: 8,180

    Location: Liverpool

    Or foolish :p I always get scared running more than 1.5V through mine, I leave the higher volts for the people with water/phase. My 3700 gets a nice overclock anyway, gets to 2.75GHz with 1.425V so I can't complain:)