Guitar Chords

Associate
I am a beginner who is teaching himself i have learnt a couple of chords of a friend, i wondered if anyone knew a website showing where to put fingures where??

Soldato
Learn your basic non-open voicings such as a G Major barre chord:

E:3
B:3
G:4
D:5
A:5

and others such as your G Minor Barre chord (same as above but 4th fret G is 3rd fret instead) then you already have 2 shapes that you can move around to any position and play the corresponding chord, E.g play the major shape only starting on your 5th fret and you're playing A Major.

To start off just learn what shapes transpose (move around) without changing them and you'll probably have all the chords you'll need until if you get into it more seriously.

Soldato
Andelusion said:
Learn your basic non-open voicings such as a G Major barre chord:

B:3
G:4
D:5
A:5

and others such as your G Minor Barre chord (same as above but 4th fret G is 3rd fret instead) then you already have 2 shapes that you can move around to any position and play the corresponding chord, E.g play the major shape only starting on your 5th fret and you're playing A Major.

To start off just learn what shapes transpose (move around) without changing them and you'll probably have all the chords you'll need until if you get into it more seriously.

bit complicated.... :p

Soldato
well yeh it is...eventually.

just starting out id just want a few chords ....a few major chords to learn.

my first lesson i got G/A/E/D/C to learn, a bar of each. so 4counts of each chrod then the next. just to get used to chords/rythem/changing chords.

Soldato
lemonkettaz said:
well yeh it is...eventually.

just starting out id just want a few chords ....a few major chords to learn.

my first lesson i got G/A/E/D/C to learn, a bar of each. so 4counts of each chrod then the next. just to get used to chords/rythem/changing chords.