1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Help me identify a plug

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by adolf hamster, Apr 27, 2020.

  1. adolf hamster

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2012

    Posts: 7,257

    Hey guys

    Wondering if anyone recognises what type of plug this is? I want to make a wiring loom to hook up the 3-pin plug on the right (only need 2 of the pins actually connected) to an external system but i need the right type of plug to connect up to it.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. NoobCannon

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 13, 2011

    Posts: 5,113

    That looks like a lesser known “img” plug

    only available on forums

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Vince

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2003

    Posts: 9,621

    Location: Essex

    The 4 pin or the 6 pin? Also what is that device? Might help!

    Repost of image:

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Luke

    Soldato

    Joined: Jul 19, 2005

    Posts: 6,940

    Location: S. Yorkshire

    [​IMG]
     
  5. EssexBoy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 13, 2013

    Posts: 1,276

    Location: Essex/East London

    Looks like a 3+5 pin header from the angle i can see.

    It looks similar to Molex, SPOX, 5267 but might not be identical just look through rs to try and find a match
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2020
  6. Diddums

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 24, 2012

    Posts: 19,505

    Location: London

    I believe it's called a socket.
     
  7. adolf hamster

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2012

    Posts: 7,257

    ahh imgur on phones lol, vince's re-post is spot on.

    so the device is a fire control unit for an airsoft gun, the left hand 6-pin plug is used to control the main mechanism.

    the right hand 3-pin plug is the one i'm interested in. supposedly it provides a switched pass-through from the battery to power accessories. it's designed to operate the motors on box magazines but i'm interested in setting it up to power a tracer unit (basically some led's)

    the led unit just takes direct power supply in, i could connect it directly to the battery but i'm thinking having it switched to the trigger via the plug would be a more efficient solution.


    edit: if it helps the manufacturer is american, so possibly an american only style of connector?

    took a look at molex picoblade ( https://uk.rs-online.com/web/p/wire-to-board-cable-assemblies/1250730/ ) and it doesn't look quite the same, going off the 5-pin one the guide ribs on the side are off-centre and there's no protrusion on the top.
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2020
  8. Vince

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2003

    Posts: 9,621

    Location: Essex

    You would expect it to be fairly standard, I think the best bet would be to get a measurement across the pins and work out what they do. you will have a live and ground for sure and depending on voltage is supplied to the pins you will need a resistor for you LED's. Just to get this right, you pull the triger and both mechanisms fire? If that is the case get a multi meter out and get some data from the pins on the fire mechanism. It may be much easier than you expect.
     
  9. Terminal_Boy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Apr 13, 2013

    Posts: 8,057

    Location: La France

    No such thing as standard when it comes to airsoft. If the OP knows the manufacturer’s name for the burst control mechanism, a quick Google should find them.
     
  10. adolf hamster

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2012

    Posts: 7,257

    the led unit already has a voltage regulator on it, so no worries there.

    the system is instantaneous, seems to be as long as the trigger is pressed it sends power. the only thing i might consider is maybe a capacitor across the outputs so the led stays on slightly longer after the trigger is released.

    figuring out the pin-out isn't the problem, it's getting the plug

    it's polarstar, you can get the plug harnesses from 'murica but i'm hoping there's a closer to home option.
     
  11. Vince

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2003

    Posts: 9,621

    Location: Essex

    Out of interest have you seen if one of these fits? They tend to come with motherboard headers and you find them on the built in buzzers you get on cheaper boards:

    [​IMG]

    that particular one is a JST 3pin plug.
     
  12. adolf hamster

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2012

    Posts: 7,257

    yeah jst is way too big to fit sadly.
     
  13. builder22

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 14, 2005

    Posts: 3,143

  14. Efour

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 8, 2005

    Posts: 25,867

    Location: Norrbotten, Sweden.

    [​IMG]
     
  15. adolf hamster

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2012

    Posts: 7,257

  16. builder22

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 14, 2005

    Posts: 3,143

  17. adolf hamster

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2012

    Posts: 7,257

    Sweet, i'll order one and see if it it's right. Checking the pin spacing it seems like 1.5mm is right so fingers crossed.

    Now the only debate is do i want to wire it up direct or try fancy capacitor shenanigans.
     
  18. Vince

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2003

    Posts: 9,621

    Location: Essex

    Fancy caps is clearly the way forward. Why go standard when you can do better?
     
  19. adolf hamster

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 18, 2012

    Posts: 7,257

    See i'm not 100% sure if its necessary.

    Basically its 4 uv led's (which are pretty damn bright) which charge up glow in the dark bb's and i'm not sure if it flashing when on semi (i tend to use semi a lot) will be enough to give a decent glow.

    That said, i suppose i could just try it as-is and see if it does a good enough job before messing with it.
     
  20. Snaggle

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 3,286

    Location: Northants

    or solder direct to the board and fit yer own plug ?