1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, we are running a Photoshop competition with a 32" monitor as the first prize - See here for details.

Help please

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by AdamScott85, Sep 18, 2018.

  1. AdamScott85

    Hitman

    Joined: May 7, 2016

    Posts: 710

    Hey guys,

    Unfortunately I ended up ordering a power supply to replace mine and picked up an Evga 1300w PSU from a seller. Before I changed the PSU I had no issues. Since changing today I am now getting 5 short beeps on each boot. Other than that the pc seems to work fine. Should I return the unit as faulty? I never had this issue with my Corsair PSU. I have tried setting bios as default and this never helped.

    Lee.
     
  2. AdamScott85

    Hitman

    Joined: May 7, 2016

    Posts: 710

    So a few updates with this. I tried going back to my old power supply and same issue. Here is what else I have troubleshooted.
    - I stripped the computer and rebuilt ensuing all cables and connectors are correctly installed.
    - Tried each gpu on its own, no fix
    - Tried all 8 sticks of ram on there own, no fix.
    - Tried removing the battery and resetting the cmos, no fix.
    - Tried with a single ssd and all, no fix.

    I am really stumped here. 5 beeps on gigabyte seems to point to the clock speed, but even on default its doing it and the beeping is damn loud. The motherboard has the code AA which I believe means its working correctly and when booted up it seems fine. Should I ignore this annoying beeping? I just don't understand what has started this off, before I replaced the PSU there was never 5 beeps so this is a little strange.
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2018
  3. AdamScott85

    Hitman

    Joined: May 7, 2016

    Posts: 710

    Just updated to latest bios and still the same, I am thinking I may need to change the motherboard...even though it's working fine? Could it be a motherboard short?
     
  4. pastymuncher

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Jul 12, 2005

    Posts: 17,327

    Location: Aberlour, NE Scotland

    Are you using the cables that came with the EVGA? Is the EVGA brand new? I believe that the Corsair should have a 10 year warranty so you can RMA it.
     
  5. EsaT

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 6, 2008

    Posts: 5,033

    Location: Finland

    What about replacing battery?
    (or did you check its voltage?)
     
  6. AdamScott85

    Hitman

    Joined: May 7, 2016

    Posts: 710

    I have not tried replacing the battery no, but before I changed the PSU this wasn't happening. Even on default voltage it's doing it. I am lost as what is causing this.

    @ PastyMuncher, I am using only the cables that came with the PSU and yes it was unopened. I do have a 10 year warranty, but the issue hasn't been caused by the power supply and is happening on my old one now too. I say issue, but the pc is fine apart from the beeps on boot, but it doesn't do it when you restart.
     
  7. SilverTongue

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 4, 2007

    Posts: 2,067

    Location: Welsh Valleys

    Might help to say what motherboard you have but 5 shirt beeps on gigabyte boards tends to be CPU error .
     
  8. AdamScott85

    Hitman

    Joined: May 7, 2016

    Posts: 710

    Gigabyte Gaming 7 x99, think its this or very similar. https://www.gigabyte.com/de/Motherboard/GA-X99-Gaming-7-WIFI-rev-10#ov .Why would changing the PSU suddenly bring a cpu error? Checked the chip last night and the pins and looks normal. Would be gutted if I had to replace my CPU, it's the 5960x. Surely if the CPU or Motherboard really had issues, I would get bluescreens? It just seems too much of a coincidence that it only started after changing the psu, obiviously I know the psu is fine now but it is still odd.
     
  9. AdamScott85

    Hitman

    Joined: May 7, 2016

    Posts: 710

    So just home from work, I have tried memtest through today and left it running, it passed. I have reseated the cpu and checked pins again and it looks fine.
     
  10. AdamScott85

    Hitman

    Joined: May 7, 2016

    Posts: 710

    Mystery solved, just borrowed a magnyfier off my friend and I have some bent pins on one side of the board, about 10. God knows what has caused that but a new board will be ordered :(
    So I need a new motherboard because there are few too many pins and its a mess. I don't want to spend a fortune though, just spend £1550 on 2 cards and then an sli bridge and PSU!
     
    Last edited: Sep 19, 2018