Help with setting up a computer

Associate
Hi,

Complete noob checking in. I want to run dual screen monitors side by side to run 6 Virtual Machines off. How possible is this on a budget?

I need to buy everything from scratch.

Looking to spend around £800 on the entire thing if that's possible.

I understand the most important thing for this is a powerful CPU and at least 32gb ram.

Thank you so much if you can reply. No problem if not. Have a great day all.

Tim.

(apologies if posted in wrong place)

Associate
before anyone can advise anything, we'll need to know what the VMs are going to be doing as that would very much dictate the CPU performance needed

also, do you have the monitors already?

32GB of even basic DDR4 is going to cost around £300 minimum, around £160-£250 minimum on a 'powerful' CPU (Ryzen 5 1600 or Ryzen 7 1700), at least £80 for a motherboard, £30 for even the most basic graphics card, and you'll still need PSU, case and storage, which you'll need a fair bit of for VMs (to keep all the disk images as well as other space to actually store files, if required).

Sorry to be the bearer of bad news, but I think you'll really struggle for that budget. If you can stand 2nd hand, you may wish to look for a second hand Dell precision or similar, however you still wont get one with 32GB AND a fast modern CPU for that money.

Soldato
Going new. might be hard- and then seeing what software your using - seem intel is the easiest to set up

My basket at Overclockers UK:
Total: £874.14 (includes shipping: £12.30)

as above, 2nd hand-
more details you provide, more can be tailored- have have no idea on your storage needs etc etc so very rough list

also unsure of the heat load that will be placed on ryzen 1700- stock cooler is good, but not sure how it'll handle constant 100% load for log periods possibly ?​

Associate