1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hitman upgrade to goty

Discussion in 'Console Games & Hardware' started by bakes0310, Feb 6, 2019.

  1. bakes0310

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 22, 2004

    Posts: 11,906

    Got season 1 free from the psn store. Is the goty upgrade worth getting for £8?
     
  2. da_mic_1530

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 31, 2005

    Posts: 8,436

    Location: Leeds (from Durham)

    Isn't hitman free on ps plus this month?
     
  3. bakes0310

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 22, 2004

    Posts: 11,906

    Yes that's where I got it from but you can upgrade it to the goty edition so I'm asking is it worth buying the upgrade for £8.
     
  4. kdd

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 29, 2005

    Posts: 3,543

    Location: Kent

    I would play through the main campaign and see what you think. If you like it and want more, then yes.
     
  5. ic1male

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 28, 2003

    Posts: 24,575

    Location: Westchestershire

    I think you get access to a few outfits, which make bugger all difference but you get the Patient Zero story. I'm going to try it out today and will let you know what I think.

    One thing I would check out - download Hitman 2 and see if it recognises that you own Hitman 1. It may let you download the Hitman 1 levels inside Hitman 2 so that when your PS+ sub runs out, you could potentially keep playing with Hitman 2. I don't know if this would work 100% or not but it's worth a try. I've just had a look on the PS store and it seems their Hitman offering is a brand new SKU so the Hitman 2 unlock may not work. But as I say it'll only cost you time and bandwidth to try it.
     
  6. bakes0310

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 22, 2004

    Posts: 11,906

    How do you get a free copy of hitman 2?
     
  7. ic1male

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 28, 2003

    Posts: 24,575

    Location: Westchestershire

    It's not the whole game, just the training level at the start - the Prologue. But that download allows you to play the "legacy" levels from Hitman 1 if you already own that game. They've received a few graphical upgrades as they are running inside the later version of the Glacier engine.

    https://store.playstation.com/en-gb/product/EP3969-CUSA12414_00-HITMANGAME000002
     
  8. bakes0310

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 22, 2004

    Posts: 11,906

    Okay thanks downloading now. Hope it improves the performance as it's a bit choppy.
     
  9. bakes0310

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 22, 2004

    Posts: 11,906

    Downloading now. So will I be playing the hitman 1 campaign from the hitman 2 client app now?
     
  10. ic1male

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 28, 2003

    Posts: 24,575

    Location: Westchestershire

    If it works yeah. I can’t guarantee it will with that PS+ version but it’s worth a try.
     
  11. bakes0310

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 22, 2004

    Posts: 11,906

    Think it is working, just got to wait on this big download. I'm hoping for a performance increase. As I managed to do the tutorial but it was a bit choppy.
     
  12. ic1male

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 28, 2003

    Posts: 24,575

    Location: Westchestershire

    As for the GOTY upgrade, if you like the main game then it’s probably worth it. It’s the same levels in the bonus missions but with new targets and a change in the outfits/restricted areas.
     
  13. ic1male

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 28, 2003

    Posts: 24,575

    Location: Westchestershire

    Did you try out Hitman 2 to see if you get the Hitman 1 levels yet?
     
  14. bakes0310

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 22, 2004

    Posts: 11,906

    Yes it works and also the performance seems a bit better.