How to move up to management?

Thug
Soldato
Per the title, just curious how to scrabble up the Corporate ladder? I'm thinking a possible career change at some point to doing my own thing, but for now I might as well push forward...

I've got 3 years experience in a couple roles, exceeded expectations, have been a supervisor of a number of analysts (IB) etc.

But there seems to be a chasm of getting to the VP/Director/higher level without having to work a serious grind?

Anyone been in the same boat? Does it call for a jump to another place? Do I need to be pushing certain areas more?

It seems that once you get to VP level (and quick enough, I don't want to be just hitting VP at 30 etc) places invest a lot more in you, and it seems to be a self fulfilling prophecy after that...

So any hints and tips?

Man of Honour
Unless the company sees you as more than normally desirable in a higher role you will almost certainly have to move to another company to get a leg up these days - for one they just see as you moving up as them having to then fill your old role as well - especially if you have a lot of experience in that role they won't have a lot of motivation to move you.

Man of Honour
You need to work hard, and put in the serious grind. And at 30, whilst you may have some good work/life experience, a reason why some of the better bigger hitters are a bit older is that they have more experience.

If you're committed and willing to put the work in you'll get there. Maybe some training or an MBA or some form of qualification can help you get some extra skills to help you exploit business opportunities to make you stand out more or achieve more - but that's not a guarantee.

Some people are lucky and don't have to work hard to do well, but they are the exception to the rule.

Man of Honour
Why do you want to be a manager, what's the end game?

More money?
More control?
More progression from VP forward?
More say in the future direction of the business?