I’m building a Polytunnel.

Caporegime
Decided to have a go and grow your own...:)

Never built one before and I’m a total noob at growing stuff. My pond was a success though and it’s thriving so fingers crossed.

4PsP9y8.jpg

JumWnnN.jpg

Caporegime
OP
Have you already started growing the chilies? If not you're probably just past the point where you'll be able to grow them for harvest this year.

That's one huge tunnel though. Make sure its well bolted down so the wind can't move it. Should be able to grow a huge amount of stuff in them.

I had a go last year so kept a few and overwintered them....That should give me a head start.

I also have a few seedlings on the go using the paper towel food bag method....I should be ok....:)

Caporegime
OP
I wanted to avoid digging as much as possible and to speed things up, so I went for screw anchors for the poles ( wow they go deep, my chest muscles ached for days) Aluminium Base rails for securing the polythene.Double sliding door with a wide single at the back.

Staging for the right hand side and staging bars for the left, for supporting plants etc...might not put these in yet or maybe just a couple.

Went for crop bars and twin support brace.

SH5ByGt.jpg

dy2VzVY.jpg

52WvQOj.jpg

Last edited:
Caporegime
OP
Is your sheet being held in place by trench, wood or clips. I have to say apart from the literal ache of digging the trench I found it the easiest to get a good tight cover. Also saves buggering about with ground plates.

Second time around we installed staging on one side so we could have two levels handy for potting before putting out into the beds.

Good luck they're great fun.

Did you fit a gutter to the tunnel?

Caporegime
OP