In the market for Amp, Sub and a pair of speakers!

Associate
Hi guys,

As stated in the title I'm in the market for an Amp, Sub and a pair of speakers. Currently I'm listening to music through my Sharp XL-HP605.

I have about £400-500 to spend, closer to the £400 mark the better! :) I'll want to make the most out of it by hooking it up to my TV, Xbox, PC and my current sharp hifi, although i will most likely be listening to the majority of my music through the PC. I listen to lots of different types of music a few that spring to mind: acoustic, dub step, drum n bass, indie/rock and dance.

I have a fairly big bedroom so I'll be looking for some floor speakers which will be placed either side of my room. Do you think it is worth hooking up my current sharp speakers as well, any disadvantages from doing so?

A friend of mine has a Cambridge Audio A5 Amp and Mission M2KSAS Sub as well as a pair of old speakers but his music (to me) sounds really good. I'm new to all this so any advice and hardware recommendations would be great!

Soldato
Consider looking second hand for hi-fi stuff. Not too many moving parts and a lot of it is well looked after.

£100-150 should net you a really good stereo amp. The rest can get a very nice set of floor standers.

I'm sure there will be plenty of recommendations but I've recently had experience of both Rotel and Audiolab amps bought 2nd hand from the bay and they've both been absolutely first rate.

Associate
OP
Townlea said:
B&W 601 + NAD C325BEE

You won't need a sub... thats a fact!

Correct if I'm wrong but aren't the B&W 601 standmount speakers?

I'm liking the sound of not needing a sub, more money to spend on an Amp and Speakers! :) Does everyone recommend just getting a decent amp and speakers?

sswats said:
you need surround, or are happy with stereo?

I'm happy with just stereo but how much more am i looking to pay if i wish to go surround? Keeping within my price range. :cool:

Trick said: