1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is DDR3 dead?

Discussion in 'Memory' started by shiver, Feb 8, 2019.

  1. shiver

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 13, 2007

    Posts: 708

    Location: London

    This may indeed be old news but I have recently sent off some Corsair 1866MHz 2x8GB modules off for RMA and they want to replace it with 1600MHz stuff. Unfortunately for me upgrading to DDR4 means new board, means new CPU. I would like to avoid that if possible but still retain my origin spec RAM speed.

    A quick online shop check seems most places do not stock anything above 1600MHz any more.

    I guess the DDR3 ship has left for good?
     
  2. EsaT

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 6, 2008

    Posts: 4,764

    Location: Finland

    DDR4 became standard years ago, so it's natural that DDR3's production has been cut down to only standard level parts.
     
  3. tamzzy

    Soldato

    Joined: May 26, 2012

    Posts: 7,043

    yep.

    and don't accept anything less than 1866. ask for 2400 ;)
    don't let them short change you
     
  4. pastymuncher

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Jul 12, 2005

    Posts: 17,182

    Location: Aberlour, NE Scotland

    I wouldn't be happy with accepting slower memory. Don't forget the timings as well. If your 1866mhz kit was C9 and this 1600mhz kit is C10 or C11 then that would be a double downgrade. Cas can be just as important as speed.
     
  5. shiver

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 13, 2007

    Posts: 708

    Location: London

    Looks like they are offering a warranty refund, so will find out how much that is.

    I still have 2x8GB in the PC working so will hold out until a full system upgrade.
     
  6. pastymuncher

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Jul 12, 2005

    Posts: 17,182

    Location: Aberlour, NE Scotland

    @lesoudeur You had best remove the link before you get a holiday. Posting links to competitors is not allowed on here.
     
  7. Cooper

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 16, 2004

    Posts: 2,376

    I just bought 16GB of DDR3 1866mhz CL10 @1.2vlts, which easily overclocked up to 2133Mhz 1.25vlts

    Thesedays 16GB of slightly slower RAM is better than 8GB of 2400Mhz....and 2133 vs 2400 there really is no perceptible difference to frame rates.
     
  8. shiver

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 13, 2007

    Posts: 708

    Location: London

    I may give that a go. Having recently resolved a crashing issue, I re-overclocked my CPU, so I might push the RAM up a bit too
     
  9. ExoMale

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 9, 2016

    Posts: 3,278

    Location: Gloucestershire

    ddr3 is still good, but not worth buying new, although prices vary, i had 2 single 1600mhz 8gb blue Hyper fury i sold as a pair for £50 last year.