Is my PSU good enough for overclocking? cooler master silent pro M600 80+bronze

Associate
I just received the secondhand i5 2500k in the mail and at the last minute I thought of my PSU.

I built my PC back in 2011 I think and I was a noob so I got the non k. For the past years its at 3.8ghz and its been alright for games like forza horizon 3 + 4 and gta in invite sessions.
Just recently I noticed the secondhand i5 2500k is like 50 bucks so I got one not knowing how well it will overclock.

I would like to know how much my psu can handle with cpu and gpu overclocked.

My specs
i5 2500k with NH d14 CPU cooler, as much overclock as I can get
GTX970 (as much overclock as I can get)
Asus P8P67 3.0 rev
8 GB DDR3 ram 1333 (will get 1600 soon)
1 barracuda 7200rpm hdd
no dvd or cd rom

Any help is appreciated many thanks!

Man of Honour
Hi and welcome to the forums. :)

It's not all about the big number on the label. Take your 600w psu for example. It isn't capable of 600w on the all important 12v rail where you need the power. It only has 480w on the 12v rail, it did when new anyway. The rest is on the minor rails. It was a decent psu when launched back in 2008 but by todays standards where any decent psu should be able to deliver all or near enough all of it's power on the 12v rails along with improvements in efficiency and internal components, your psu would be at the low end of the market. It is also quite old now so any weak spots may be shown up with the extra power draw from overclocking. It should still have enough power to get a decent overclock but keep in mind it's age and that if you upgrade further, the gpu for example, then you should replace it with a modern, more efficient psu.