Is my PSU powerful enough?

Permabanned
Joined
1 Sep 2006
Posts
42
BF2 keeps crashing and sending me back to the desktop when I try to up the detail settings. Is my PSU ( Antec TruePower 2.0 430W) powerful enough to run all of these:


Connect3D ATI Radeon X1800 XT 256MB GDDR3 AVIVO TV-Out/
512mb (Kingston?) RAM (Borrowed 'cos the 2gig RAM I brought didn't work)
Intel Core 2 DUO E6300 "LGA775 Allendale" 1.86GHz
Gigabyte GA_965P_DS3 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard
HD-079-SE Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 250GB ST3250620AS SATA-II
SC-040-CL Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE 7.1 Sound Card - OEM

Cheers!
 
Permabanned
OP
Joined
1 Sep 2006
Posts
42
I'm pretty sure it supports the Kingston RAM. I borrowed it from the IT guy at work and he said it should. I'm trying to get rid of the RAM that didn't work (Ocuk wouldn't take it back, thanks guys!) so I can buy another 2gig ...
 

J.B

J.B

Soldato
Joined
16 Aug 2006
Posts
5,924
there was thread about PSU power and someone linked to a calculator that works out your recuirments, IMHO i would say the problem is not PSU related but probably graphics card.
 
Associate
Joined
10 Jan 2006
Posts
1,334
Location
Scotland
Graphics?! I'd say its more likely to be the RAM. Or perhaps battlefield 2 bugging out when you don't set the processor affinity to one core? Don't see why that would only make a difference at higher settings though.
 
Soldato
Joined
11 Sep 2003
Posts
14,716
Location
London
Paolos said:
BF2 keeps crashing and sending me back to the desktop when I try to up the detail settings. Is my PSU ( Antec TruePower 2.0 430W) powerful enough to run all of these:


Connect3D ATI Radeon X1800 XT 256MB GDDR3 AVIVO TV-Out/
512mb (Kingston?) RAM (Borrowed 'cos the 2gig RAM I brought didn't work)
Intel Core 2 DUO E6300 "LGA775 Allendale" 1.86GHz
Gigabyte GA_965P_DS3 (Socket 775) PCI-Express DDR2 Motherboard
HD-079-SE Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 250GB ST3250620AS SATA-II
SC-040-CL Creative Sound Blaster Audigy SE 7.1 Sound Card - OEM

Cheers!
System Type: Single Processor
CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 1860 MHz Allendale
CPU Utilization (TDP): 100% TDP
RAM: 1 Stick DDR SDRAM
Video Card: ATI Radeon X1800 XT
Video Type: Single Card
SATA HDD: 1 HDD
Sound Blaster - All Models: Yes
USB: 4 Devices
Fans Regular: 2 Fans 80mm; 1 Fan 92mm; 1 Fan 120mm
Motherboard, keyboard and mouse: Yes
PSU Utilization: 100 %
Surge Compensation (+ W %): 15 %
Capacitor Aging (+ W %): 30 %
Total: 377 Watts



J.B said:
there was thread about PSU power and someone linked to a calculator that works out your recuirments, IMHO i would say the problem is not PSU related but probably graphics card.
eXtreme PSU Calculator v2.0
 
Soldato
Joined
30 Jul 2005
Posts
19,478
Location
Midlands
this used to happen to me a few times when i first built my pc.

battlfield 2 would crash out to the desktop.

reason was cpu was overheating, my old [email protected]. after running snm test on it i found out it to keep crashing as the temp got to 60c. sorted that out with better cooler.

then i added 3 sticks of ram to the system, nforce 2 + multiple sticks of ram = wounded. bf2 crashed to desktop all the time, memtest would pass but then i used a different memory tester, goldmemory, and that picked up errors. back to 2 sticks of ram and all was fine again.

your problem is more likley to be the ram, run memtest on it and see what happens.
 
Back
Top Bottom