*** Official SONOS Thread ***

Soldato
Damit, why didn't anyone tell me they were everything I wanted earlier?!

I've been putting off buying them for as long as I can remember, hoping for something to come along to beat them on price while still maintaining usability (I was even happy to sacrifice on some quality!) but I finally gave in an ordered the 2xPlay:1 starter pack.

From the moment I started playing my first song after starting the app I knew I'd be hooked. The combination of fool proof interface with "out the box it just works" awesomeness (that we all secretly want) just makes it a tough one to beat.

I've tried countless systems and mashups of various devices to try and get this experience but nothing has worked..

For me, the icing on the cake has to be the alarm functionality that removes the clumsiness of an app based system (I'm a massive fan of simple button controls http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=18631835) and allows you to schedule your radio station of choice (or any playlist) without using you phone. This has the effect of "resetting" the system each morning so that the physical button the device allow you to "turn on and off the radio" just like you normally would with a simple DAB radio.

It even acts as a nice "double" alarm for us as we like to get up at 07:30 and leave at 08:30 - so I've set the SONOS to only turn on for an hour on weekday mornings - reminding us to leave the house when the radio goes off.

It's really nice to have the accessibility I wanted for listening to music, as all my previous attempts have been hampered with touch and go performance or usability.

Oh, and the room groupings - genius. So simple, so quick. Love it. Really makes moving them a round much less of a task. Of course, this is also avoided if you can afford to put them in every room of your house... but since we've just bought a 5 bedroom behemoth I think it will be a while before every room has one.