Job advice.

Soldato
I have recently being working in the Lloyds no1 bar in Worcester and went home for the Christmas period, I informed my manager of this and I transferred to the bar in Birmingham.

I had a phonecall from the Worcester manager saying that I was meant to be in Worcester working in January, however I was still at the Birmingham bar and I had made it clear to him I would be till the end of January (I'm a student and I was at home with parents for this time).

When I returned to Worcester for University, the manager seems to have hired new staff and there is now no where for me to work. He refuses to call me back when I leave messages with other staff.

I'm at a loss of what to do, I've only been with the company a short time but since joining I've put a lot of effort into my work.

I need this job to enable me to keep eating at University, while there I was late only once (due to me finishing at around 0200 and being in again for 1200). I worked illegal hours, did 10 days straight working towards Christmas and now the manager doesn't want to know me.

I could try to look for another job, but I want this job at the moment, I don't want to go somewhere else and make friends with new people.

I'd appreciate any advice you can give me, whether he is right to effectively fire me or if I can do something about it.

Soldato
Go into the branch and speak to your manager, see if you can sort things out. Maybe there was a miscommunication problem during Christmas, he felt you let him down so he hired new staff. Did you have some kind of contract?

Associate
Go in and try to talk to him face to face when you know he will be working? Sounds like somewhere a bit of miscommunication has occurred, easily done as I'm fairly sure the bar (like most with students working) have a high staff turnover, maybe he just presumed wrong about you coming back?

Soldato
OP
Dr_Evil said:
Did you have some kind of contract?