Laptop Information

Soldato
I'm planning on buying my first laptop and was wondering if anyone knows any good sites that have reviews and information for a first time buyer?

I've got around £600 and want to basically be able to use it for all the multi media applications I'll be using in my course later this year.

I was thinking about getting a mac book as all the colleges and universitys seem to use them and I have very little experience with macs so I thought getting one would be a great asset.

The main reason I wouldn't get one is the fact I want the best I can get for my money and I've heard the you can get a better speced laptop for the same price as a mac book.

Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Soldato
What, in specific would you like to know?

The intel Core Duo's, and Core 2 Duo's seem to be the best mobile CPU at the moment, which you can have for your budget. You'll probably have the onboard Intel graphics for that money, but its fine for everything except gaming.

Soldato
OP
I saw an Acer for around my budget with a Core 2 Duo and a nvidia graphics card that looks like a great deal.

I'm pretty sure I'll be able to find something for a great price but my main concern is with chossing between a macbook or a laptop.

The basic macbook I can have for under £700 but could I get a laptop that would perform similarly for the same price?

Also is there any reason to get a mac over a laptop as I could probably get all the software I need for a laptop anyway.

Soldato
The MacBook, is smaller - 13.1" screen. Where as the PC Laptop, would most likely be 15.4".

So, part of the choice has to be mobility as the Apple is much smaller and lighter.
Spec wise, they'd be quite similar with the PC having the edge. If you've used OSX before, and are happy living with Mac applications, then that's 1 less barried. Paralles and Boot Camp will let you run XP to an extent though.

Also, check that Acer again - are you sure it was a Core 2 Duo, and not a Core Duo?