LED head lamps

Soldato
I am looking to buy two or more led headlamps to help me survey unlit indoor areas like ceiling/attic spaces. I am a structural engineer. So far I've been using a torch or portable lamp which aren't as practical. Distance isn't as much of an issue as brightness and wideangle. Average use will be 2-3h, occasionally up to 6h, hence I am considering at least two

I can see many versions of headlamps like these: https://othemo.com/products/othemo-headband

Any particular better brands/models people have used or recommend?

Last edited:
I was given a no-name copy of the one you linked a year or so ago and couldn’t get on with it. The genuine one might be different.

The band gets warm after extended use - no pleasant on a hot day.

The band light was okay out to a couple of metres, but is a pretty diffuse light, so you need the spot beam to precise stuff and the spot beam on mine was rather too narrow for close work without sliding the band around to point where you’re looking.

As a varifocal glasses wearer, I had to move the band around to get the spot anywhere near where I wanted it and then move it back when I wanted to see something slightly further away which is a PITA.

The “no press” on/off feature on mine was useless as it was triggered by any solid object within 50cm and was useless when working underneath vehicles - mine would trigger walking through doorways and sometimes even when tilting my head fully over to the right to get a different viewing angle on something.

Best head torch I’ve tried to date is a Petzel Core, but you’ll need 2 core batteries or a pocket full of AAAs to get over 2 hours use on full intensity.

A touch on the expensive side but I swear by Olight personally, though not sure on the wide angle side of it.

I used a Blackdiamond head torch for running. It's very small and light and not expensive. Only slightly annoying thing with it is it's USB micro charging, it's an older model so might be USB-C now