1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lightroom Setup

Discussion in 'Photography & Video' started by LostPhil, Jul 12, 2018.

  1. LostPhil

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 6, 2007

    Posts: 525

    Location: Norwich, Norfolk

    Hi all,

    I've hit a bit of a low with regards to my photography and want to pick it back up again. One of the issues I currently have is with my home computer setup. How is everyone else running their photo storage?

    My main computer is a laptop with a 128gb SSD as its only storage. I have a Synology NAS with 2TB of storage and Office 365 with a TB of OneDrive space.

    If I keep the source files on my NAS, lightroom is slow as every time it loads a preview, it's doing it over the network. Smart previews kinda help, but they take up space on the SSD and it seems like I have to disconnect the NAS if I want to use them.

    So, at the moment I bypass Lightroom completely and just shoot in JPG, delete the unwanted ones and save the untouched versions in OneDrive. It's just a pain when I want to edit/play around with a particular photo or manage my collection.

    Ideally, I'd build a desktop with a big HDD backed up to the NAS/OneDrive but I can't afford it right now. Any other suggestions?
     
    Last edited: Jul 12, 2018
  2. Raymond Lin

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 60,305

    Location: Wish i was in New York

    Ideally you need to do 3 stages

    1 - PC, keep nothing here, so if it gets hit with a virus and your OS dies on its feet your files are okay.
    2 - external HDD for processing. Better if you can run this as a dual mirror drive. Something like the WD Duo
    3 - NAS for "archive" backup
    4 - Cloud/off site.
     
  3. RSR

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Aug 17, 2006

    Posts: 8,239

    Interesting topic, as I have been looking at a simlar setup options as I feel my current lightroom setup need a bit of a overhaul.

    Does lightroom support working off a NAS? As I have been playing around with but seems to be hit and miss some times.
     
  4. iamtheoneneo

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Mar 15, 2010

    Posts: 8,428

    Location: Bucks

    yes all Adobe products can fetch and send from a NAS, you can make LR work off the cloud too, I tried it with Onedrive once, it was slow but it worked.
    NAS will obviously be a bit better. I just prefer to have the NAS as a backup of the files and have a SSD drive dedicated to LR on my main computer.
     
  5. LostPhil

    Hitman

    Joined: Feb 6, 2007

    Posts: 525

    Location: Norwich, Norfolk

    Perhaps I'll have to find an external drive to use via USB or even just connect the NAS via USB and see if it's any quicker. Always been wary of external drives, but if it's sitting on my desk, not gonna be much worse than an internal drive. I'll probably just keep my output files on the cloud as I won't be doing anything too important.
     
  6. Minstadave

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 8, 2004

    Posts: 23,183

    Location: Rutland

    Why keep no files on the PC? I keep all my catalogues on my PC whilst I work on them as its fastest, mirrored to an external drive and then backup to NAS/cloud.
     
  7. Minstadave

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 8, 2004

    Posts: 23,183

    Location: Rutland

    If you really want to increase the speed I'd look at either an internal or external SSD to hold your files whilst you work on them. You already have a NAS to back them up so this should be robust.

    In terms of speed, you've got:

    NVME SSDs - 2-3GB/s
    SATA SSDS - 500MB/s
    Mechanical drives internally - 100-150MB/s
    USB3 - 500MB/s
    USB2 - 20-30MB/s
    Gigabit network - 100MB/s
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2018
  8. Raymond Lin

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 60,305

    Location: Wish i was in New York

    By files I mean the actual RAWs.

    I have a separate HDD backing up the internal HDD daily.
     
  9. Minstadave

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 8, 2004

    Posts: 23,183

    Location: Rutland

    I keep all my RAW files on SSD (separate to OS drive) to edit them as that's the fastest. Don't you find it limiting accessing your RAW files over USB, or have you got a USB SSD?
     
  10. Raymond Lin

    Capo Crimine

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 60,305

    Location: Wish i was in New York

    Thunderbolt.
     
  11. Admiral Huddy

    Don

    Joined: Feb 17, 2003

    Posts: 28,771

    Location: Chelmsford & Broadgate

    I have all my images (RAW) on a 2tb hard drive which LR point to. This drive is mirrored daily to a secondary 2tb drive, and periodically to an external drive. I toyed around with Know How Cloud storage but I found that it slows my PC down and a i started getting random re-boots. However, It a great tool for photo delivery.

    I don't tend to stored the JPG equivalents.. I can always export them whenever I need them.
     
  12. jasonsony735

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 17, 2007

    Posts: 1,136

    Location: Some where in England

    My current setup works like this ,

    1 : 120GB SSD Running Windows 10 and nothing else!
    2: Samsung Pro 500gb M.2 SSD Running Lightroom & Sony Vegas only ( Super fast ) I find this makes processing photos very quick with no lag.
    3: When ever I put photos on my PC I have it setup to Automatically upload and store the photos on amazon Prime photo collection.
    4 : I save and store edited photos on 1T Drive.


    I find this works best for me and my pc runs super smooth this way. worst thing you can do is put stuff on your desktop and loadup screen so try and avoid this at all cost and keep LR on its own drive if possible on its own.