Linux-Uses?

Soldato
Im toying with the idea of "Experimenting" with another OS, i've never done it before. I am aware that linux is open source, and there are countless different distro's availible on the net for next to nothing, the thing is what are the uses of linux over windows? I mean shouldn't software compatibility be a big issue with linux :confused: .

Basically, what can you actually do with linux and why do so many people favour it instead of windows? I know most people complement its stability but don't you need more than that to satisfy your needs?

Also, would you recommend using a linux OS on a machine which will be probably used only for web browsing, bit of word processing? The machine in question is a Celeron 800Mhz 386MB ram and 8MB on board graphics...What distro?

So many questions...so little time. I've never installed a linux distro or let alone used one...:(

Thank you in advance for any help guys :)

Edit: I would probably set up this as a second OS on that machine. I can do multiboot with windows but i have no idea with linux..On this machine i got Win 98SE, Win2k and WinXP..

Last edited:
Soldato
Linux can do a lot of stuff, the one main area it isn't so good at is gaming, very few games work natively and getting stuff to work through wine/cedega is a pita...

For general web surfing/word processing i'd actually say linux was as good if not better than windows for, for web surfing FireFox is available on linux and linux has the big benefit of not being affected by much(any?) spyware/adware etc

For word processing i use OpenOffice, it can read in .doc's and can write them out but they're aren't going to be perfect, it does however have the ability to export your files as pdf making them readable easily on any machine