1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Looking to learn Python! Complete beginner

Discussion in 'HTML, Graphics & Programming' started by Rossuk89, Sep 11, 2018.

1. Rossuk89

Wise Guy

What would be a good starting point for someone with no programming experience but who wants to learn Python and hopefully make something of it?

Are there any official courses (Udemy etc), YouTube video's or bootcamps that are worth completing that will teach me what I need to know to hopefully land some sort of job relating to programming in the future?

I understand learning a language takes time and it's not as simple as watching some video's and then getting job offers! But I have no idea what learning material to use to start off.

I would appreciate any help, thank you

2. btph

Gangster

Get yourself over to learn python 3 the hard way. Do the first set of exercises, up till you have to pay for them. This shouldn't take more than 2 or 3 evenings, and will get you up and running with a python install, some understanding of the processes involved, and a bit of experience. After that, when you reach the paid for bit, ditch it, and download a free book called dive into python 3. Read that, do the exercises etc, cover to cover. Do it twice for it all to sink in. You'll be a mildly experienced junior programmer at this point and the whole world will be your oyster.

A couple of other comments. There are an infinite number of other ways to learn python. The trouble is you won't really know if they are a good or bad way. The approach above is one of the good ways.