MacBook Vs Windows Laptop

Soldato
Hi all,

I am in fairly urgent need of an aesthetically pleasing lightweight laptop. As a PC user how would I find the switch to Mac(Book)?

Any other advice - spending around the £1k mark?

The main things I need are DVD player, bluetooth and mobile internet and obviously decent processor speed.

I am no computer expert so go easy on the technobabble please. :p

Soldato
The Macbook is a perfect choice, It's a good spec machine (accept for GPU) and the styling is 2nd to none, I'ts also the only Laptop capable of running OSX, XP and Linux all on the same machine.

If your after a quality laptop but not too bothered about running the latest games then the Macbook is a no brainer and should be at the top of everyones list.

PS. I don't work for Apple honest!!!

Last edited:
Soldato
OP
Hi,

Thanks for your reply.

I was just breaking the forum rules and asked about the MacBook running XP. First guy said no it can't then the other guy said it can but it is not advised. I have had a quick Google and it looks like it can be done very nicely so d'you reckon the guy is just being a nob?

I am quite interested in this MacBook now. I have heard some things about Macs being more secure virus wise. Would I be right in saying if I run XP then this goes out the window (excuse the pun!)?

Associate
ive just got my macbook for the same reason, its light and has everything on it, plus none of this windows rubbish. im so glad i made the right choice and went for a mac, i would definetly not go back now.

thank you apple :)

p.s. have a peep in the linux,osx part of the forum. honestly you wont be disappointed with a mac.

/im not a seller. lol, im just addicted to my macbook now.

Man of Honour
Soldato
Jambo said:
Hi,

Thanks for your reply.