1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Macrium Reflect question.

Discussion in 'Windows & Other Software' started by APM, Feb 10, 2018.

  1. APM

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 9, 2011

    Posts: 1,141

    Location: Wales

    If I'm working in Windows on a dual boot Windows/Linux machine and I clone the Linux drive/partitions will I then have a bootable Linux distro on the cloned drive?

    What if I just place a drive with a linux distro on it physically mounted in a windows pc,connected to sata and power,could I clone that?

    Thanks.
     
  2. APM

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 9, 2011

    Posts: 1,141

    Location: Wales

    No-one tried anything like this then?
     
  3. Scort

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 28, 2006

    Posts: 2,712

    Location: Back in Wiltshire

    In your first example, I'd say that won't work - unless Reflect is able to capture the boot sector in addition - BUT... as you'll only be taking an image of the Linux distro, I assume it may have a problem with booting up (if the Windows partition is missing); you might have to suck it and see...

    Second point - I'm having a hard time deciphering what you mean. But assuming you mean having a second physical [slave] Linux drive, but booting into a physical Windows disk; then using Reflect in Windows to then image this second physical drive - I cannot see a reason for that not to work; though Windows might struggle with the file system.

    Just my 2p - I felt sad no one was replying to you :D
     
  4. APM

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 9, 2011

    Posts: 1,141

    Location: Wales

    I'm going to have a run at it on the weekend and see what happens.

    I would think that in the first instance you may need to run a repair from an install disk to get it going too.
     
  5. Scort

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 28, 2006

    Posts: 2,712

    Location: Back in Wiltshire

    Sadly, I don't use Linux enough to confirm or deny - but I can assure you that you won't need such a repair, if you image a Windows drive in Reflect - done it many times; only thing is there's a tick box to shrink/resize the image - 1Tb imaged onto a 128Gb SSD (only 60 odd Gb was used).
     
  6. APM

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 9, 2011

    Posts: 1,141

    Location: Wales

    I have a hard drive dock that does cloning with the proviso that the target drive is larger than the source drive.

    That can be a pita but I used it to clone the Fedora install that I'm running here from the original 500GB drive to a 1 TB drive,now I would like to re-purpose the 500GB drive but I'd also like a spare clone to have in a drawer that I could just swop in if issues arise in the future so I'm going to see how small a clone I can get.

    I use that machine for some cctv though so may have to do some partitioning and storage changes to just capture the system.

    Only ran one Windows clone so far and that shrunk the system to fit the target drive which is much much more useful imho.
     


Share This Page