Monitor choice considering photography

Caporegime
I'm in the market for a new monitor

Mines breaking (half panel goes green often ) and new desk needs a new monitor

Ill be coming from a u2711 (great monitor)

I'm looking at a uw panel (34in, 3440*1440)

I'm looking at
AW3418DW (slight skew to games)
U3419w (skew to photography)

I'm trading refresh rate for colour accuracy I believe

I'm no pro, but I don't really know how much I'll lose going for the AW?
I'm also not a pro gamer.

Anyone use a similar panel for productivity?

Associate
I have the LG UltraWide 34UM88C - its a couple of years old now so likely been refreshed a few times, but with a decent calibrator I've got excellent results from it. Heavy Lightroom Classic and Capture One use for large prints.

Soldato
I got the Viewsonic VP3481 - its great for the money and designed with colour accuracy in mind. I think I paid about £550 for it from here a few months ago. Is 3440X1440 and 100hz and 300 nits 'HDR'

Soldato
I've got the U3415W. Would highly recommend. Came with a calibration report. Also do some light 60hz gaming.

One thing I liked about it was even with the stand its quite slim. Some of the ultrawide come with huge stands.

And

And

Associate
About six months ago I went the other way from UW 3440x1440 (LG 34UM95) to 27" 4k (Benq SW271).

And

And

Associate
@Spleen Sauce

Menus can be small in some apps, Camera Raw especially, but I've got used to it. Nice to work on - in sRGB images look great with fantastic detail. It was expensive and I need to pick up a calibration device.

The wife's a graphic designer and has the newest 5K iMac (it is a lovely display and OSX plays ball with scaling much better than Win10) which AFAIK is the same 27" LG in terms of colour spec.

Last edited:
Soldato
Can’t advise on with panel to buy as I myself has been out of the loop for years. But I am sure there are plenty IPS panels nowadays can have wide garmut