1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NEC LCD20WGX2 review *** UPDATED 25/02/06 ***

Discussion in 'Monitors' started by igors, Feb 10, 2006.

  1. Spook

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 408

    Took advantage of the "This week only" offer. Arrived yesterday after preliminary testing im very happy. Theres a small amount of bleed in the corners but it is not noticible in normal use and Im hoping it will disappear after a few days.
     
  2. rezza

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 4, 2006

    Posts: 131

    Location: Bournemouth, Dorset

    How do you check for bleed. I mean when is it visible and when its not. I got mine today and I am still doing some tests. No dead pixels though.
     
  3. JonC

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 11, 2003

    Posts: 1,318

    Location: Here, there, everywhere.

    I'm looking at getting one of these as well, as an aside, does anyone have any idea when the "pro" is going to be available/if there will be a price differential?
     
  4. rezza

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 4, 2006

    Posts: 131

    Location: Bournemouth, Dorset

    Hmm I have no backlight issues or pixel issues but I do have banding in all DV modes apart from text and normal. Is there any remedy or should I just call NEC for a replacement?
     
  5. JonC

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 11, 2003

    Posts: 1,318

    Location: Here, there, everywhere.

    OK, well I ordered and received one of these yesterday, and it appears to be suffering from the buzzing issue.

    In standby it gives out a (quite quiet) high pitched whine, and in regular use it gives a buzz/rattle, in both cases it emanates from the part of the screen that takes the AC in. It's not really load, but it's load enough to hear and be annoying when I've not got the sound turned on with my computer.

    Where do I stand on getting a replacement?
     
  6. rezza

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 4, 2006

    Posts: 131

    Location: Bournemouth, Dorset


    Call NEC

    http://www.nec-display-solutions.co.uk/coremedia/generator/index,realm=Service__Home,spec=x__uk__en
     
  7. Spook

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 408

    Sorry Bleed should have been in inverted commas as mine seems more like panel uniformity to me. Bleed will be most apparent in dark environments ie lights off on a dark background. If you have true bleed it should be quite apparent as there will be light shining around the edges of the screen. In my case there are "hot spots" ie the corners appear lighter than the center of the screen. There have been reports that this "bleed" diminishes with use.
     
  8. mathesar

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 7, 2005

    Posts: 121

    Location: California

    I just got an NEC 20WMGX2 in town yesterday (US / California) , Long story short the image quality is *very good* but whats with the black levels !?! Is there anyway to improve this? When displaying a black screen it looks dark grey at best and also causes movies / certain games to have a washed out look to them,I have my CRT sitting next to it as a reference (Sony GDM-FW900) Im currently using Standard DV / Brightness 30% / Contrast 50% / Advanced DV enabled (when playing games) / Native Color selected and of course native resolution. Any ideas appreciated.

    Here's a side by side shot: Link (My camera caused the overbright appearance on the LCD)
     
  9. simonnance

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 20, 2006

    Posts: 1,419

    Location: Southampton, England

    I'm seriosuly considering this monitor as an upgrade to my 17" POS im running at the moment. After i do a few more hardware upgrades (RD600, secondary HDD) that is.

    Question though, i'm planning on going Vista with my new mobo (OEM Ultimate.... i figure i'll get a few years of play with the RD600 before ill swap to something DDR3, by which Vista will be a bit cheaper, or a new OS may be out..... either way, 2xOEM is STILL cheaper than retail), and i was wondering how vital HDCP in a new monitor will be given that fact?

    Otherwise looks like a fairly spectacular monitor!
     
  10. mrk

    Man of Terrible Jokes

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 85,549

    Location: South Coast

    if your monitor does not support HDCP your HDDVD and protected HD content will default to 480p (or was it standard definition DVD quality?) so you won't be able to watch 720p or 1080p content at those resolutions.

    Your GFX card will also need a HDCP enabled DVI port.
     
  11. Cal_G

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 29, 2004

    Posts: 354

    Location: Netherton Ghetto

    Anyone who has a 360 through the VGA on this able to get it in the correct aspect ratio? If I put it on full screen it stretches the 16:9 display to 16:10 making aiming on COD 3 look rubbish, If I do full screen with aspect it puts it in a 4:3 display mode! WTF! The only ratio that is right is a 1:1 pixel map but then its about a 14" picture. Any tips, nothing I have tried works.

    The PC through the VGA on the other hand works perfectly with all display modes, giving borders for a true 16:9 display if needed instead of stretching.

    I take it then that the xbox is at fault?
     
  12. mathesar

    Gangster

    Joined: Nov 7, 2005

    Posts: 121

    Location: California

    Well I discovered that with LCDs you WANT ambient light present when using the monitor (unlike a CRT which can get washed out with nearby lighting) Anyhow this made the black levels much nicer looking.. I must say the overall image quality on this LCD is outstanding. Now we just need NEC to make a 24" version ;)
     
  13. valerian

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 8, 2006

    Posts: 1,852

    Location: Stafford

    nec 20wgx power button issues, anyone else had issues with this, and how did you solve them
    cheers
     
  14. Richdog

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 8, 2005

    Posts: 24,532

    Location: Utopia

    I don't think it's going to happen. :(

    Can you be a bit more descriptive?
     
  15. Xero

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 14, 2004

    Posts: 30

    There was a thread on here recently about power button issues with this monitor - mine has the same problem...usually have to press it 10 times to turn the thing on or off...so I just use the remote that came with it instead.

    Only problem I've had with it - great monitor!
     
  16. valerian

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 8, 2006

    Posts: 1,852

    Location: Stafford

    as bove turning it on and off issues,,, what remote??
     
  17. Fr0dders

    Caporegime

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 33,274

    Location: West Yorks

    i have it as well, the power buttong doesnt seem particular responsive. Just needs a firm push

    presume the contacts arent very well made and have worn down resulting in more pressure being needed.

    and double ??? at the remote bit. Dont think any of the UK models got a remote ?
     
  18. Xero

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 14, 2004

    Posts: 30

    I now live in Canada, and so mine is the LCD20WMGX2 version...I guess you guys missed out on the remote :(
     
  19. Jamrasta

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 21, 2004

    Posts: 746

    Location: Porth, Near Cardiff

    anyone know what the difference between the Pro is ? my nec needs to go back and if it gets replaced I could get the Pro version
     
  20. Baddass

    Don

    Joined: Jan 12, 2003

    Posts: 19,962

    Location: UK

    only difference is that it is now "Soundbar 20W" compatible