Need 7900GT Screenies

Man of Honour
Joined
19 Jan 2003
Posts
12,645
Location
Warwickshire
Tommy B said:
Why?

The graphics card won't make it look better, it'll just render things at better framerates.

What he said really.

If you've got a DX9 card already, max out the resolution, AA, AF, you'll get 5fps, but it'll look exactly (well, pretty much exactly) the same as the top card would render.
 
Man of Honour
Joined
19 Jan 2003
Posts
12,645
Location
Warwickshire
Turbanation said:
I dont have the card I am needing the screenies.

How would you get 5fps if your system was top notch?

You've misread.

Games on full detail will not look different at all when you take a screenshot. Just the 7900 will make them run a lot quicker. So depending on your current graphics card, you'll be able to see what things will look like. Screenshots don't give you a representation of how well the game will run.
 
Man of Honour
Joined
19 Jan 2003
Posts
12,645
Location
Warwickshire
Just to add to the thread with a screenshot, here's HL2 running on Full settings on my X850XT. The 7900 will look exactly the same, just will run better.

 
Soldato
Joined
9 Nov 2004
Posts
13,984
Location
Pembrokeshire
Turbanation said:
Any Game, Everything High.
any game?
theme hospital alright :p??


but definately agree with the guys above, the graphics card itself does not make a game look better... the games are designed to look the way the look because of the graphical engines that they are created with.

only small differences may be something like better AA/AF/MSAA/SSAA over older cards.

the only graphical improvement i've noticed in games is dropping a 9600 pro and going to a 6600GT which made a small patch of mesh in unreal tournament 2004 be rendered correctly (the 9600 wasn't doing it right for some reason)...

my current 7800GT would look no difference from a 7900GT, its just you will get (slightly) better frame rates on the 7900GT.
 
Soldato
Joined
9 Nov 2004
Posts
13,984
Location
Pembrokeshire
UT2004 on my 7800GT, everything maxed inc. AA and AF

damn.jpg


Oblivion, most things maxed, with 2xAA and max AF using Bloom not HDR

Oblivion5.jpg


Oblivion6.jpg



a 7900GT isn't going to make things look any nicer :p
 
Permabanned
OP
Joined
18 Oct 2005
Posts
788
Location
London, UK
nike bee how much fps do you get?

BTW To the guys saying it not gonna make much of a difference, right now my pcs specs are,

1.7 intel celeron
632 RAM
Onboard GFX card

and im going to,

4400
2gig mem
256 7900 gt

and I've never had a Gaming PC so imagine how much of a difference it will make to me? more than nike bees biggest of 9600 to 6600.

One more thing is a 7900 GT a decent replacement until the DX 10 cards go into full circulation? Is it decent enough to run future games like Crysis and Enemy Territory:Quake Wars?

Any1 got screenies of COD2?
 
Man of Honour
Joined
19 Jan 2003
Posts
12,645
Location
Warwickshire
As Crysis isn't out yet, nor Quake Wars we can't really say for 100%.

Your proposed system would likely run the games pretty well, but there's always the chance full details would be a little choppy with them possibly being DX10 required card games for full detail.

As for DX10 cards, it's probably reasonably safe to get a high powered DX9 card for now, as if you look at current DX9 games, they're only really just coming into full use of their technology now, and those cards have been out for a good 18++ months.
 
Soldato
Joined
9 Nov 2003
Posts
17,699
Location
Leeds
Very similar to my rig.

Yet to use a game that with some little tweaking I can not run at 1280 x 1024 maxed out. :)

Very nice system coupled with a good PSU should be very good for games.
 
Back
Top Bottom