New build.... won't post!!?

Associate
Joined
30 Sep 2020
Posts
83
Location
Bristol
Hi guys, so I finally got my 5950x through today, I've finished putting everything together, hooked everything up and it won't post.
There's no beeps from the mobo and there's no signal detected from the monitors.
I flashed the BIOS using a usb stick and thought it was successful.... before I start re-flashing and pulling parts, is there anything obvious that I'm missing? Build parts are below:

Corsair Graphite 780T
Corsair RMx850
Asus ROG STRIX X570-E
AMD 5950x
Noctua NH-D15 Chromax Pure Black CPU Cooler
Corsair Vengeance RGB Pro 128GB (4x32GB) DDR4 PC4-29200C18 3600MHz Quad Channel Kit
Zotac Geforce RTX 3090 Trinity
2 x Adata XPG SX8200 Pro M.2 1TB SSD
3 x WD Blue 1TB 3D NAND SSD
1 x WD Black 6TB SATA 3.5"
2 x LG 27UL600-W 27" 3840x2160 4K IPS 60Hz HDR400
 
Associate
OP
Joined
30 Sep 2020
Posts
83
Location
Bristol
Fixed!

Strangest problem I've ever had..... the two PCI-e cables supplying the 3090 GPU have 2 x 6+2 pin connecters on each cable, I used the first ones in the run as I figured that was better, turns out it's not, swapping to the second connecter on the cable run got rid of the Q-Code and I'm in the BIOS. No idea why this would cause an issue, but it did.
 
Associate
Joined
20 Jul 2015
Posts
357
It's quite common these days for GPU's to cause issues if daisy chaining the power connectors, so most on here always seem to recommend 2 seperate connectors as the first thing to try. Anyway, glad it's sorted, bet the 3090 is a beast !
 
Associate
OP
Joined
30 Sep 2020
Posts
83
Location
Bristol
It's quite common these days for GPU's to cause issues if daisy chaining the power connectors, so most on here always seem to recommend 2 seperate connectors as the first thing to try. Anyway, glad it's sorted, bet the 3090 is a beast !

Think you misunderstood, I was using 2 separate pci-e cables, each cable has 2 connectors, I used the first one on each cable which returned the q-code error, changing it to the second one on each cable got rid of the error.

Nothing else connected to either cable.
 
Associate
Joined
7 Nov 2012
Posts
628
Location
Glasgow
That power supply might be a bit small for the 3090
It can deliver 850W
But might have a heart attack when the 3090 jumps into full load
 
Associate
OP
Joined
30 Sep 2020
Posts
83
Location
Bristol
Just a quick update, I contacted Corsair to inform them of the issue I had, they're sending me out some new pci-e cables (which was nice of them).
 
Associate
OP
Joined
30 Sep 2020
Posts
83
Location
Bristol
That power supply might be a bit small for the 3090
It can deliver 850W
But might have a heart attack when the 3090 jumps into full load

Ha ha, well I hope it doesn't.... pretty much everywhere on the internet says a decent 850w would be fine. Guess I'll find out?
 
Top Bottom