New Marantz AVR and Audyssey?

Soldato
So, when I quickly set up my new SR5012 I went through the Audyssey stuff and noticed it set my speakers as large. I have two floorstanding Gale 3030s in a 2.0 set-up. I had read that it often does this and that it was "best" to set them to small. So I did that.

Everything was fine and dandy, sounded great. Apart from I started playing around in the manual settings last weekend and obviously changed something, because we were watching Friend's last night on Netflix and every time the sting of music came on in-between scenes the speakers were making a sort-of farting sound in the bass :confused: :p

I checked the settings and I had accidentally reverted my speakers to "large". I set them back to "small" but what I noticed is that I can't turn off the subwoofer option when I do so :confused: So, Audyssey thinks I have 2.1 with "small" speakers, but I really only have 2.0. Is this the correct set-up? What about LFE and crossover settings? (Things I know nothing about)

tldr; With a 2.0 setup what should I have my Audyssey set to? :confused:

EDIT: I am using Pure Direct mode for my music listening, so I'm only talking about stereo for movies/TV here :)

Last edited:
Soldato
OP
Also, why have you bought an AVR if you've only got 2 speakers?
Because my hifi amp was dying, I wanted to simplify my set-up, and I may upgrade to 5.1 at some point in the future. This AVR is a long-term purchase.

But mainly because my hifi amp was dying and running optical out of my TV for audio, and running 6+ HDMI devices on a switcher and all the remotes that came with those 6+ devices was just horrendous :)

How do I know if my speakers are "large" and can handle full range? :confused: This thread was an interesting read but doesn't offer suggestions for a 2.0 setup, only 2.1 :(

Associate