New Mechanical Keyboard

Associate
Good afternoon everyone,

I have just had to RMA my Razer Blackwidow Ultimate, due to one of my keys LEDs giving up. I'm sending it off soon, but I want a different keyboard. I am not a big fan of the Cherry Blue as it is noisy, and I want to get a different switch type keyboard, just to try it out. I am a programmer and gamer but it is more important that it is a good typists keyboard.

Looking at switches, I think a Brown switch is the most suitable. Does anyone have any recommendations? They don't have to be sold by Overclockers, but a name of any keyboards people can recommend would be great. I am using my Apple Wireless Keyboard at the moment and I must say that it is nothing like my keyboard :( can't use this for too long!

Last edited:
Associate
OP
If you hate noise, you're pretty much stuck with Brown. You can order different cherry switch types from the keyboard company just to try out; and there's also Topre if you don't mind trying under 7 days DSR.

I don't hate noise but my Blackwidow could keep the neighbours up, I didn't mind as such and to be honest it won't be a deal breaker at any stretch.

Associate
OP
I like the look of the Ducky Shine II, however if i have to import one from the USA then it would add expense, but it does look nice... and I have a choice of switches then too :D i still have to wait until Razer accept my RMA request and send me back a new keyboard to sell on really so I have a while yet, although this Apple Wireless keyboard is making me grind my teeth... i thought I quite liked it on my MacBook but on a desktop this is just no good.

edit: Ducky Shine really is expensive, probably to the point of too expensive. I would think anything over £100 is pushing it unless there is a very good reason.

Last edited:
Associate
OP
Ok that's good to know! Haha is that so ;) i won't tell!