New Vista Beta 5728

Don
Joined
21 Oct 2002
Posts
46,753
Location
Parts Unknown
32bit
64bit

cheers for the 64bit link in this thread.

from what i've read, this udpate contains..
-a few bugfixes
-general performance increases
-the ability to mute the windows startup sound

any more info anyone?
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
15 Jan 2004
Posts
14,199
Location
Hall
Yeh I heard about this earlier, it's a pita considering I've just stuck RC1 on my laptop, ah well sods law tbh.

I'll probably wait untill they get a decent version out, then upgrade, and wait untill January (or whenever) to get a free copy through uni.
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
28 Dec 2002
Posts
6,600
Location
South Coast
Well having just got the PC back to XP I'm loathe if I'll be wiping it again. I'll download it anyway and go from there.

Comtemplating a set of new hard drives and if I go for them, then I may consider putting it back on.
 
Don
OP
Joined
21 Oct 2002
Posts
46,753
Location
Parts Unknown
JonRohan said:
Just installing this now on MS Virtual doo dar.

Its taking a while but slowly getting there.

from what i read before..

virtual machines don't like the large iso size, so the best way to install is to mount the iso with daemon tools, then tell vmware/virtualpc to use your local drive (whatever drive letter your iso is mounted onto)

its because of a 2gb (i think) iso size limit
 
Soldato
Joined
15 Sep 2003
Posts
9,454
Thats a good idea. Although the install has just finished. I think I only have a two week license as I couldn't find my key. Its on a 5.2 gig VM File and going OK so far. :)
 
Soldato
Joined
26 Aug 2003
Posts
4,495
Location
The North
Hmmm, tempting but think i'm going to stick with RC1. So close to getting everything I want working on it! Just need on raid driver for my dfi nforce4 ultra D lanparty and I'm done (hint hint).
 
Soldato
Joined
30 Aug 2006
Posts
2,682
ok guys downloaded and installed the x64 version from the link i posted , i did an upgrade from rc1 , no problems at all , infact every thing seems to be smoother and faster again from rc1 , also windows experiance didnt work on my rc1 , because of a driver problem , but no problems with this build , so far , a very worthy download!
 
Soldato
Joined
30 Aug 2006
Posts
2,682
yak.h'cir said:
Hmmm, tempting but think i'm going to stick with RC1. So close to getting everything I want working on it! Just need on raid driver for my dfi nforce4 ultra D lanparty and I'm done (hint hint).
my sata drive works fine now as well , all drivers installed automitacly
 
Soldato
Joined
30 Aug 2006
Posts
2,682
some programs are going to give problems as vista is a completely new operating system , we just need to wait , if you use your main comp for a lot of differant things i wouldnt recommend installing vista at all untill leter next year once the programs can be patched or rewritten for vista
 
Back
Top Bottom