1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No Post, No nothing

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Ventilated, 16 May 2006.

  1. Ventilated

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Aug 2005

    Posts: 128

    Hi everyone :)

    Well I just set up my new components with a CPU that got given to me (XP2000+) and when it powers on all fans come on, HDDs spin and CD drive flashes but the system does post.

    The system does no beep atall.

    Ive tryed unplugging the hdd and the cd rom.

    Got a bad feeling its the CPU.


    What you guys think?
     
  2. Poolybit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 May 2006

    Posts: 1,174

    I'd try replacing the memory with some test stuff before you go CPU swapping.

    Though saying that...you ever think why someone gave you that processor? :p

    Good Luck with getting it to work
     
  3. meaz

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 12 Jul 2005

    Posts: 336

    If the speaker doesnt beep it usually means the processor is no longer functioning IMO. If it was one of the other components there would be a sequence of beeps from the speaker depending on the BIOS type and the problem.
     
  4. Ventilated

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Aug 2005

    Posts: 128

    looking at the mobo i cant see any onboard speaker? Do all mobos have this?
     
  5. Poolybit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 May 2006

    Posts: 1,174

    Not all, some have a 4 connect that say "***" or something similar on the MB itself. Either that or a lil black circle on the MB. If its beeped before then you've got one somewhere... :D
     
  6. Ventilated

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Aug 2005

    Posts: 128

    Lol its never beeped before, its never anything as I only got it today, there is definatly not a normal round black speaker on it..

    It's an MSI board that can come with an *optional* D-Bracket that has post lights on it, unfortunatly mine didnt come with one so..... Im stuck lol
     
  7. meaz

    PermaBanned

    Joined: 12 Jul 2005

    Posts: 336

    There should be a speaker in the case...a small blaack system speaker. Hook this up to the relavent header on the motehrboard if there is one.
     
  8. Ventilated

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Aug 2005

    Posts: 128

    no speaker
     
  9. Poolybit

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 14 May 2006

    Posts: 1,174

    Then I'd defo test memory before hand then,
     
  10. Ventilated

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Aug 2005

    Posts: 128

    Argh i remember the case did come with a speaker, a tiny one...

    I wonder where the hell that is!

    Gonna try find it
     
  11. luminous

    Gangster

    Joined: 10 Apr 2006

    Posts: 373

    Location: Edinburgh

    I`d recheck the cpu and everything is seated correctly in,and if you have your old xp chip try that.If it works you may be then able to flash the bios on the motherboard to latest which might then enable you to run the `newer chip` as bios revisions often update code to support processors that come out after it or fix incompatibilities.
    It could well be the chip or motherboard is duff,above should narrow it down.
     
  12. Ventilated

    Gangster

    Joined: 27 Aug 2005

    Posts: 128

    I dont hav another CPU to try on it and i cant find the speaker.. :(
     
  13. robertgilbert86

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 1 Feb 2006

    Posts: 2,162

    Location: London

    Check the reset switch/pins are not shorted out or if the swith in the case is stuck in
     
  14. 2StepSteve

    Soldato

    Joined: 24 Apr 2006

    Posts: 6,120

    Location: SE England

    Check the memory is in properly. Though it gets told that if a PC is completely dead then its the CPU to blame, not always the case.

    If you have two sticks of RAM in there take one stick out and try that, swap the RAM over using only one stick. You may have a faulty stick which can result in a dead PC on power on.

    If the CPU was given to you I assume it was working fine before you got ahold of it. Is this a new mobo you are using? Is the video card seated properly?


    Steve
     
  15. ajm

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 13 Apr 2004

    Posts: 1,759

    Also if you have one try changing the PSU as this can also cause the same problem.
     
  16. luminous

    Gangster

    Joined: 10 Apr 2006

    Posts: 373

    Location: Edinburgh

    Any luck? unfortunately it sounds like you don`t have spares of anything to troubleshoot properly.Try and find some small local pc shop with a tech who`s friendly who`ll troubleshoot it for you cheaply (ask them what it`ll cost),it`ll only take 5 mins and will save further hair loss.