On a budget PC build

Associate
Joined
13 Mar 2009
Posts
36
Location
London
Will i be able to use my old ide hdd and optical drives in this system I've read the mother board specs and it states that it can, also are all the components compatible with each other was thinking of getting an Nvidia 9800 gt card instead. Going to be using this for some 3D modeling in Silo and Blender bit of a newb at this any help given greatly appreciated.

Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P (Socket AM3) PCI-Express DDR3 Motherboard

AMD Phenom II X3 Tri Core 710 2.6GHz (Socket AM3) - Retail

Antec 300 Gaming Case and Antec Basiq Plus 550W Modular PSU

XFX ATI Radeon HD 4830 512MB GDDR3 TV-Out/Dual DVI/HDMI (PCI-Express) - Retail

Corsair XMS3 4GB DDR3 10666C9 1333MHz TwinX Dual Channel Kit (2x2GB) (TW3X4G1333C9)

Arctic Silver 5 Thermal Compound (3.5g)



£470.57
 
Last edited:
Permabanned
Joined
15 Nov 2008
Posts
6,968
Agree re you should look at a SATA drive, this one here is very reliable and you will notice a big speed increase, theres no point having a nice new computer and it all being bottlenecked by an old IDE HDD. However as you mentioned you're doing it on a budget, steer well clear of SSD's
Re: your gfx choice, the original 4830 has the edge over the 9800, theres a comparison between them here if you want to check
 
Last edited:
Permabanned
Joined
17 Nov 2007
Posts
10,278
Location
Chester/ Bristol uni
I think that you'd get better overall preformance by dropping to 4gb kingston DDR2, getting a cheaper Asus motherboard, and buying a samsung sataII hard drive.

It seems a bit mad to have a creaky old IDE drive and DDR3.
 
Permabanned
Joined
15 Nov 2008
Posts
6,968
This is what you want to be looking at really mate, I've included the much better CPU, a decent aftermarket cooler so you can clock it well, and a new decent HDD, if you could afford another £30 on top of this its definately worth looking at the 4850 gfx card thats on TWO, its a cracker, but Ive just included the 4830 to try n keep it down. I understand what Bens saying and if your budget is inflexible then yeah thats prob better route, but if you can stretch then this is more likely to offer you more of an upgrade path in future

Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P (Socket AM3) PCI-Express DDR3 Motherboard £116.99 (£101.73)
AMD Phenom II X3 Tri Core 720 Black Edition 2.8GHz (Socket AM3) - Retail £114.99 (£99.99)
Antec 300 Gaming Case and Antec Basiq Plus 550W Modular PSU £89.99 (£78.25)
XFX ATI Radeon HD 4830 512MB GDDR3 TV-Out/Dual DVI/HDMI (PCI-Express) - Retail £80.49 (£69.99)
Corsair XMS3 4GB DDR3 10666C9 1333MHz TwinX Dual Channel Kit (2x2GB) (TW3X4G1333C9) £54.04 (£46.99)
Samsung SpinPoint F1 320GB SATA-II 16MB Cache - OEM (HD322HJ) £40.24 (£34.99)
Sunbeam Core Contact Freezer CPU Cooler (Socket 754/939/940/AM2/AM3/LGA775) £28.74 (£24.99)
Sub Total : £456.93
Shipping cost assumes delivery to UK Mainland with:
DPD Next Day Parcel
(This can be changed during checkout) Shipping : £11.25
VAT is being charged at 15% VAT : £70.23
Total : £538.41
 
Associate
Joined
13 Mar 2009
Posts
36
Location
London
Thanks for the replies guys going to be placing an order today as its payday thought id better do it while i have the cash suppose i'll have to give up smoking, drinking and gambling for a bit :D. May leave the hdd till next month also im gonna be installing 32bit XP home as operating system will break my budget will this be ok as i've read XP will not use the full 4gb of ram ? thanks forgot to mention budget is £500.
 
Last edited:
Permabanned
Joined
15 Nov 2008
Posts
6,968
It'll be fine, yeah XP will only see 3.5 gig but its no problem, it'll be there in reserve for when you switch over to vista/windows 7 ;)
 
Associate
Joined
13 Mar 2009
Posts
36
Location
London
Just placed order thanks for all the suggestions forgot to add the thermal paste what a div i'll pick some up at a computer fair on saturday
 
Last edited:
Top Bottom