Only two slots which should i put in...

Soldato
Joined
7 Feb 2004
Posts
9,409
I currently have a stick of pc3200 (1 gig) and 2 x half gig sticks of xs4400 corsair.

My new MB only has room for two sticks of DDR. Should I keep the matching together or go 1.5gig?

Thanks
 
Man of Honour
Joined
2 Nov 2006
Posts
1,386
I'm confused. :confused:

If your Asrock only has 2 DDR slots (the other 2 slots are for DDR2 only) then how would you be able to get 1.5gb of RAM in there considering your current set up? If you only have 2 slots, used the matched 4400 sticks.
 
Associate
Joined
12 Jun 2007
Posts
1,620
Location
East London
bloodline76 said:
Erm thanks :rolleyes:

to be honest he is right. its not too difficult to change ram sticks around.

try one method, run some sort of mem benchmark, then try the other. see which is best for you, and stick with it
 
Man of Honour
Joined
2 Nov 2006
Posts
1,386
ergonomics said:
to be honest he is right. its not too difficult to change ram sticks around.

try one method, run some sort of mem benchmark, then try the other. see which is best for you, and stick with it
You can't run 3 DDR DIMMs on the Asrock MOBO he is asking about. There are only 2 DDR slots. And, mixing a PC3200 DIMM with a 4400 DIMM CANNOT be better than 2 matching 4400 DIMMs and there is no way to run all 3 together on that board.
 
Soldato
Joined
7 Feb 2004
Posts
9,409
i have stick of 1gig pc 3200 ddr400

And two 512 corsair 4400.

So i could have 1 stick 3200 1gig plus on 512 = 1.5gig

Better I would be better off keeping the matching pair?
 
Man of Honour
Joined
2 Nov 2006
Posts
1,386
bloodline76 said:
i have stick of 1gig pc 3200 ddr400

And two 512 corsair 4400.

So i could have 1 stick 3200 1gig plus on 512 = 1.5gig

Better I would be better off keeping the matching pair?
It all depends on several factors.

The 1gb stick and the 512gb stick may or may not run together at all as they will have different ICs, PCDs, latencies, etc.

The pair will be forced to run at the slowest of the 2 DIMMs speed and, the PC4400 may not even run 3200.

The Asrock bios may not like the mixture.

Do you intend to OC?

Do you "need" the extra 1gb of memory?

Etc, etc, .....

The only way to know for sure is to mix them and try them together doing the things you built the system for.
 
Top