Oracle/C# developer starting with xcode/swift4: Help with a purchasing a macbook

Associate
Good evening all,

Okay so firstly I have owned multiple iPhone's and an iPad 2 before but have absolutely zero experience with a iMac or Macbook apart form using one for 5 mins in a hotel lobby. I have never entertained buying one before this past week.

So now i have decided it would be a good idea to get my very first apple macbook; to be used as a replacement for my iPad/old laptop. The reason I want to combine this into one product is mainly for the title of the thread, I will be teaching myself the basics (hopefully the advanced stuff) of Swift 4 within Xcode 9. I am currently a application developer with other languages in my day-to-day so I require it to be a macbook of some sort so I can do my tutorials/work on the train, on lunch & at home. So portability for me is key.

Now tbh its a little bit daunting looking at what product to get. For me will the Air, Macbook, Macbook Pro be best ?? Do i get a new one, refurbished or a year or two old ?? All i know is i need Sierra OS for the latest Swift.

The best option I can see from apple is the base Macbook pro 13" refurbished for £1049 but the cost is eye watering compared to what I have spent on laptops before. At least I can finance it which I probably will.

Is this the best product for my situation or should I be looking at some other option? I have seen an article about Apple potentially making the new Air model have a retina screen with a much better CPU for £899, would this be worth waiting for if confirmed?

Side note: I have a drone so would like to do some editing to the 4k video with final cut pro in the future.

Hope some kind soul can point me in the right direction as I am a bit lost in this pit of Apple Macbook confusion.

Edit: wow my first post in 5 years been here since 2004 :eek:

Commissario