1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PC cards

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by VeNT, 2 May 2006.

  1. VeNT

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Jan 2003

    Posts: 20,722

    Location: Cornwall

    hi, just wondering if there are differente vertions of PC cards? like there is for USB (1.1 / 2) and if there IS are they backwards/forwards compatable?
     
  2. semi-pro waster

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 25,822

    Location: Glasgow

    This is pretty much from memory but I think we have been at PCI specification v3 for quite a while now which is the old type and then of course there is the newest PCI-E(PCI-Express) which offers much greater throughput and power. There is also PCI-X but that is mainly for servers and you are unlikely to come across these cards unless you are looking specifically.

    If that isn't what you are asking then could you clarify a bit further :)

    //edit here is the standards website.
     
  3. VeNT

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Jan 2003

    Posts: 20,722

    Location: Cornwall

    sorry, ment PCMCIA cards when I said PC Cards.
     
  4. Rilot

    Don

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 20,995

    Location: Wargrave, UK

    Version 1 supported only memory
    Version 2 supported 16bit transfers
    Version 5 supported 32bit transfers

    Type 1 2 and 3 refer to the size of the card. Type 1 being the smallest and type 3 the largest.

    All are backwards compatible so you can fit a Version 2 type 1 card in a Version 5 type 3 slot.

    The latest notebooks with the Intel Core-Duo CPU have Express Card slots. These are not backwards compatible with PCMCIA.
     
  5. semi-pro waster

    Man of Honour

    Joined: 27 Sep 2004

    Posts: 25,822

    Location: Glasgow

    Ok, as far as I am aware they are backwards/forwards compatible insofar as there is only one standard although some cards are dual height so it is only the thickness that varies and as long as you have a high enough slot you can use the card. The PCMCIA specifications website is here.

    //edit Ah Rilot knows a lot more about this than I do :)
     
  6. VeNT

    Capodecina

    Joined: 9 Jan 2003

    Posts: 20,722

    Location: Cornwall

    cool, its just incase the laptop I'm working on wouldn't work with a new PCMCIA card