1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Phase Change Guide

Discussion in 'OC Archive' started by Marvt74, Aug 11, 2005.

  1. Drazic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Jul 14, 2005

    Posts: 2,053

    Location: Portishead, Bristol

    Yeah good idea that...

    Should be comen knowleg on the air cooled to use a xp80 or 120

    Water meh i think now
     
  2. cavemanoc

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 23, 2005

    Posts: 3,545

    Hear hear - great resourse - please sticky!
     
  3. mosfet

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 28, 2004

    Posts: 1,152

    Location: London

    You can get that on air for £30 though :/
     
  4. cavemanoc

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 23, 2005

    Posts: 3,545

    What??? I can't hear you - did you say something... sounds like a jet-aircraft taking off in that room ;)
     
  5. Drazic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Jul 14, 2005

    Posts: 2,053

    Location: Portishead, Bristol

    i'm liking the above. yeah i ahd a 120mm delta, drove me nuts. Loudest thing is probs the otes cooling now and my hard drive when it's doing a virus check
     
  6. Steve

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 3,116

    Location: Brighton - In the seat that Ro

    unplug the 2 otes fans they make no difference, I had them unplugged form day 1 and had a heavily OC'd system
     
  7. Kesnel

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 18, 2005

    Posts: 1,651

    Location: 127.0.0.1

    A cracking guide you've put together here Marvt. :)

    Another vote from me for a sticky.
     
  8. Drazic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Jul 14, 2005

    Posts: 2,053

    Location: Portishead, Bristol

    Not wanting to hijack this thread but the 2?? My mobo is a Abit IC7-max 3...I though it only had one!!!

    it's not that bad really only when i sleep
     
  9. Steve

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 3,116

    Location: Brighton - In the seat that Ro

    sorry mine was the an8 and it had two ;)
     
  10. Drazic

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Jul 14, 2005

    Posts: 2,053

    Location: Portishead, Bristol

    wel i think i might be shifting my system even though i only built it 2 weeks ago and going for amd 64 x2 and pahse is defo on the bord..in talks with the man himself about a system heheh
     
  11. mosfet

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 28, 2004

    Posts: 1,152

    Location: London

    Zalman 7700 and 9500 are virtually silent and should get a healthy overclock on the new Venice cores, for a tenth of the price of a standard Phase Change setup.
     
  12. Steve

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 3,116

    Location: Brighton - In the seat that Ro

    I might have dreamed this but when moving a phase cooler should it be kept upright?

    Or does it need to stand if it is horizontal for a while?

    I am going to a lan soon and it is rather tall with a case strapped to it so it may need to be laid down in the boot.
     
  13. welshtom

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Aug 17, 2004

    Posts: 3,463

    Location: Pencoed



    Horrizontal is fine, all the gas inside gets absorbed by tthe oil ( at least in my PE anyway) so thats why it takes a while to start up. to get the gas back compressed.

    I think anyway, Marv will know :) lol
    Im a phase change n00b too Steve

    Tom
     
  14. Steve

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 3,116

    Location: Brighton - In the seat that Ro

    Schweet didnt fancy trying to keep that upright in the car :)

    Been on the clockin sceen from K5 500 days and I do feel like abit of a noob with phase ;)
     
  15. cavemanoc

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 23, 2005

    Posts: 3,545

    Yeah - it's like moving a fridge - let it stand for 24hrs and you should be fine! If you can keep it upright - so much the better!
     
  16. h2ocooler

    Gangster

    Joined: Jun 8, 2005

    Posts: 350

    Location: Gillingham, Kent

    Bump
     
  17. Kesnel

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 18, 2005

    Posts: 1,651

    Location: 127.0.0.1

    Bumping this as it was way, way down the board. Would be a shame to see it drop off into pruning.

    Also, I think this would make a nice sticky. :)
     
  18. Mindless_Moron

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 2, 2004

    Posts: 2,109

    Location: My happy place.

    definatly sticky this.

    anyway how loud is a vapochill LS? or a mach 2? i dont like loud, would it be better for me to stick to water if i don't want a large amount of noise?
     
  19. tomos

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 17, 2004

    Posts: 2,292

    Location: Liverpool

    thanks for the info OP :D
     
  20. philstanbridge

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 7,941

    Location: West Coast of Scotland

    The Mach II is a lot quieter than the Vapo LS under normal operation. Mach II startup temps are around 35-40db(a) and running db(a) is a lot quieter. You can also change the fan speeds by adjusting the software. Both the LS and Mach II operate at roughly the same levels but the LS uses a larger compressor and requires the fans to be run at a much higher volume in order to sustain the desired temperatures.