1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Prime95 Question

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Ghuraba, 18 May 2006.

  1. Ghuraba

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,156

    Location: Leeds

    My PC has recently been randomly rebooting, espcecially in Condition Zero and then just general PC usage. My CPU, A643500 Winnie was prime stable over 12 hours at 240 x [email protected] since last May. I decided to run Prime95 for the first time in nearly 1 year. Needless to say it failed Prime95. The strange thing is that on multiple occasions it fails at around the 7 hours and 2 or 4 minutes using the 'In place large FFT's' test. Is this a software bug in the latest Prime95? I was using an older version 1 year ago to test stability with no failure at these settings. I lowered the cpu setting to the default 200 x 11 and the reboots are even more frequent and Prime fails quickly at the cpu's default settings. Very strange goings on.

    Michael
     
  2. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: 8 Jan 2004

    Posts: 29,079

    Location: Rutland

    Try running memtest86+ and see what your memory is upto.
     
  3. str

    Mobster

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 2,851

    Has the temeperature in the case increased much? Could be dust etc causing problems. Also I read about running AMD 64s with a x.5 multiplier and allegedly it's not a good idea particularly due to memory slowdown or something. There wasn't much of an explanation as to why but maybe someone on here can shed some light on it.
     
  4. Ghuraba

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,156

    Location: Leeds

    Yes I did read about the .5 multiplyer on DFI a few months ago but I've had no problems in the past. I'm gonna run Memtest now for a few hours. I gave it a quick run through and had no problems. I've just run Prime95 for nearly 11 hours using the 'Samll FFT's' option with no problem.

    Michael
     
  5. roger-melly

    Associate

    Joined: 14 May 2006

    Posts: 15

    small ftt's = cpu
    large ftt's = memory

    running the cpu at default and it failing the large ftt kinda gives it away that theres something up with the memory. more voltage, slacker timings or its faulty.
     
  6. Ghuraba

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 17 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,156

    Location: Leeds

    Thanks for the replies.

    Well I left memtest running for 6 hours and no errors. I will increase the memory voltage and run the Prime 'large fft's' test and see if it fails. I still find it strange that it fails this test at a few minutes over 7 hours all the time.

    Michael