1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Processing raw - noobie

Discussion in 'Photography & Video' started by UnworthyBean, Sep 8, 2018.

  1. UnworthyBean

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 15, 2009

    Posts: 2,070

    Location: Gateshead, Newcastle

    Very much a beginner photographer but like to shoot in raw for the most part. Have just shot several hundred photos of an event and need to get them into JPG and upload.

    Fantastic, But they all need adjusting slightly. I was under the impression if I used Photoshop scripts > image processor, I could tweak the first photo and the rest would also be processed using those values. But they're just getting exported as plain JPGs. 90% Of the photos can have the same settings and I'll just manually do the last few that don't quite work out.

    I'm doing something wrong. What is it?
     
  2. GSXRMovistar

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Nov 6, 2002

    Posts: 8,994

    Location: London UK

    Any reason why not using something like Lightroom or similar?
     
  3. Scam

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 11,976

    Location: London

    Sounds like you really shouldn't be shooting raw, to be honest.
     
  4. Gungnir

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 17, 2005

    Posts: 453

    Location: Suffolk

    Record edit of first image as an action.

    Apply it to whole batch in Image processor.

    If you don't want to edit from scratch again -

    Select whole batch in folder. Rename sequentially.

    Make copies of .xmp file and rename to match.

    Use Image Processor to batch convert to .jpg.
     
    Last edited: Sep 10, 2018
  5. Scam

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 20, 2002

    Posts: 11,976

    Location: London

    I don't see why. Shooting raw is generally more work, more time consuming and harder to manage the workflow. Why are you shooting raw? You say yourself you're a beginner. And you say they need adjusting "slightly" which doesn't make my sense for raw. If you're adding a bit of contrast and exporting jpegs then you've completely missed the point. What about sharpening etc. and other in camera processing that you get when shooting jpegs...
     
  6. EVH

    Don

    Joined: Mar 11, 2004

    Posts: 25,200

    Location: Swansea

    If you’re shooting RAW learn how to set up photoshop actions and create a droplet.

    Then it becomes a case of drag-and-drop a load of files on the droplet and let PS do the work.

    Used to use this method all the time whenever I’d shot a wedding and it saved me so much time.