1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Project: Double or Nothing

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Jediben, Dec 6, 2019.

  1. Jediben

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 30, 2009

    Posts: 301

    I've have decided I need to know what all this AMD stuff is about. The last time I have some of their kit was a 1.4ghz Thunderbird back in 2000 which quite happily hi 1.8ghz underneath a Thermaltake DragonOrb 3 (7000rpm!!) so I am a bit outside the loop and need to catch up.

    And what better way to do that than by going BIG on RGB and shoving two new Ryzen systems into one case? Nothing! That's right - there is NO BETTER WAY than to shove two new Ryzen systems into one case. I dare you to go out and find one, but you'll be gone a long time, will come back empty handed and won't get to see the absolute disaster my life is going to be, illuminated by £800 worth of RGB-ALL-THE-THINGS. So heed my words.

    Right then. The stuff. Apologies to Overclockers but the number of 'Out of Stock' things on this list, plus my blooming mid-life crisis and deteriorating sense of self-worth mean that I have had to source the following parts from other avenues in oder to satisfy my desperate need to distract myself from an uninspiring existence which I have grown cold and detached from, but as the case was bought from here I am sure they won't begrudge me this. If I hadn't bought the case, I wouldn't have any reason to have splurged all of the following:

    My basket at Overclockers UK:
    Total: £896.82 (includes shipping: £15.90)
    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]

    It's all going in the Phanteks Mini XL DS because I am obsessed with my Enthoo Primo and have no sense of adventure, which is why my girlfriend argues with me all the time and I have moved out again. Having beautiful lines and a pleasing '2001 Space Odyssey monolith' vibe, perhaps I can evolve (oh my god evolve, Evolv... are Phanteks Arthur C Clarke fans too?) to the next stage of human self-awareness? Nah, but I can run **** TONNES OF RGB!!!

    RGB ALL THE THINGS!

    This is going to happen.
    See that stuff in my signature about an i7 4790k system? Oculus I call her. She's old now and I feel past her prime even though she is running a 1070 GTX and my Oculus Rift (of course). I also want to have a system that I can use to host SQL servers and stuff, but need them to be independently active. So I'm gouging out her eyes and sticking them in a brand new system, while the rest of her will sit in the dark, wondering where the 3D went. There there, Oculus; you will be reborn and will have a conjoined twin (stunted and mentally challenged by comparison) to grow out of your shared body. Won't that be fun? He'll be useless at playing games, but will be a whiz at calculations and dredging his memory to tell me the answers to whatever queries I demand of him. Kinda like Master Blaster from Mad Max: Beyond Thunderdome - together you will form a powerful team, but ultimately will be HORRIFIC to look at.

    RGB EVERYTHING!!

    I have already got an EVGA 1200w Platinum just LYING AROUND from the last time I lost a PSU (plot twist: The psu was fine and the z97 Rampage Formula was dead from 5 years of overclocking - meh.)
    so that will be powering the matx element.

    This is going to go so well. So, so well. I cannot see myself regretting this one little bit.
    Stay tuned - I might manage to get my camera out at some point.
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2019
  2. RedMogg

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Nov 1, 2011

    Posts: 1,735

    Location: Portsmouth

    Last edited: Dec 7, 2019
  3. Jediben

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 30, 2009

    Posts: 301

    So the parts have arrived!
    [​IMG]

    It's very exciting.
    [​IMG]

    I have gone as far as preparing the itx system, all the ram installed with the cpu and stuff:
    [​IMG]

    Like so:
    [​IMG]

    So I power her up and.... nothing...
    Because Gigabyte haven't factory updated the DAMN BIOS TO SUPPORT Ryzen 3000 series!! ARRGGHH!!
    I now have a Ryzen 1200 on the way... FFS....
     
  4. Jediben

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 30, 2009

    Posts: 301

    I take it all back Gigabyte: I failed to seat the ram properly on the itx. I started on the matx and when that got power, the ram lit up immediately. Both systems now boot properly - time to get them inside the beast!
     
  5. Jediben

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 30, 2009

    Posts: 301

    Both systems now fully built inside the case, bar the sfc psu arriving Tuesday. Windows 10 ssd was even able to boot despite having been installed on a z87 system. Amazing.
     
  6. orbitalwalsh

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2015

    Posts: 17,384

    Can get gigabyte to flash their boards luckily but glad to see your all good with it !

    Snaps of the rig !
     
  7. Jediben

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 30, 2009

    Posts: 301

    The SFC PSU and the extra RGB kit has not arrived yet so I can't really do much tonight to make it look neat, so haven't taken any extra pics yet...
    I am also playing with the idea of dropping the Wraith Spires and getting a pair of Gigabyte Aorus AIOs to go instead - either a pair of 280mms or a 240 and a 360, depending on clearances.
     
  8. Alan1969

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 16, 2019

    Posts: 1,036

    Location: Leek staffordshire

    Nice log so far. I have have it mobo and also a 3600 and they are great. Ant wait to see more photos.
     
  9. Jediben

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 30, 2009

    Posts: 301

    I have fitted it all in now that the EVGA SFX psu arrived. Thankfully my decision to stick on brand for the PSU worked out and I was able to re-use cables for a 1000w EVGA Platinum instead of the 6" (!!) cable that came with the SFX PSU. Sadly the cable is about an inch too short to effectively route around the outside of the pair of motherboards, and the 8pin gets in the way of the LED strips if I lash it tothe case.
    I'll tidy it up some more once I actually have windows installed on the iTX system.

    Images are here:

    https://imgur.com/gallery/G0FNi50

    ALL THE RGB!. Nearly.
    After Christmas I intend to get some Aorus 360mm AIO coolers in there.
     
  10. Alan1969

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 16, 2019

    Posts: 1,036

    Location: Leek staffordshire

    I have bought many EVGA PSUs recently as they are made by super flower and give 7 yr warranty’s for the gold ATX ones.
     
  11. Chris [BEANS]

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 30, 2003

    Posts: 6,394

    Location: Bigger box!

    A very subtle and subdued system... discrete and understated.

    :cool:
     
  12. Jediben

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 30, 2009

    Posts: 301

    :)
     
  13. Kurgen

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 10, 2015

    Posts: 2,640

    Location: Hungerford, UK, Earth

    nice,,, the splitter should be on route to you

    and welcome to the dual system Club

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  14. LePhuronn

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 26, 2010

    Posts: 4,861

    Location: Stoke-on-Trent

    RGB all the things? Dude, you failed. If you're going with AMD stock coolers, where are the pair of Wraith Prisms? That's 2 HUUUUUGE chunks of RGB missing :p

    On a serious note, I thought the Wraith Prism was bundled with the 3000 series Ryzens anyway?
     
  15. Jediben

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 30, 2009

    Posts: 301

    3700x and above :(
    Next paycheck I am adding some AIOs. :)
     
  16. Mcnumpty2323

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 21, 2019

    Posts: 3,355

    The cable management is making me cringe lol
    And needs more leds the top right corner of case is too dark lol

    Well done fitting 2 systems in there mate
    Though I loved my primo my new enthoo luxe 2 [or whatever they changed the name to 718 or something] is my new love

    And is made for 2 systems as well!!!
    And you would have have addressable leds with the luxe 2 lol

    Carry on the good work mate
    And happy new year
     
  17. Jay85

    Mobster

    Joined: May 22, 2010

    Posts: 3,966

    Location: Up S*** Creek

    Good effort! Does need abit more RGB'ness if you're going crazy with it but to fit 2 systems in one is a win in itself.
     
  18. Jediben

    Gangster

    Joined: Aug 30, 2009

    Posts: 301

    Kurgen very kindly sent me his Phanteks powersplitter for gratis, so I did manage to tidy up the cabling in a most effective manner. Sadly either the psu is doing something odd, or the extension cables I got aren't quite right, but while I can post one machine at a time, attempting the other just leads to a non-post and in the case of the matx system, a bios reset. This behaviour continues outside the case with minimal wiring too, so I have had to return to a dual psu solution. Never mind.
     
  19. Alan1969

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 16, 2019

    Posts: 1,036

    Location: Leek staffordshire

    whats the power splitter for? - to connect both mobos to a single PSU?
     
  20. Alan1969

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 16, 2019

    Posts: 1,036

    Location: Leek staffordshire

    it may be worth putting a ticket into the PSU manufacturer to ask their opinion (as it sounds like it is some sort of circuit protection built into the PSU).