Project TriMonStand

Soldato
*****DISCLAIMER*****
I am by no means a professional and do not expect to get professional quality results in this project. I have few tools and tried to plan as much of this project in my head. Hope you enjoy it!

DAY 1

Ok so...Hi :)

I have a set up at home which means I use 3 monitors. Overkill?

Probably

But either way, I have them and can't be bothered with the waste of space and general untidiness (lol, its always messy anyway!) that stands give you.

So..

After looking for triple monitor stands for ages last year I couldn't find a cheap one (<£50) so last year I decided to make my own.
It even had a cut out for my Elite 130.

Which was too small, so it didn't fit...:rolleyes:

Anyway, here it is in all its ghastliness:
35jPNVAh.jpg

Ok so it didn't look too bad once all the monitors were on...
RNvN0eMh.jpg

But the poor workmanship and shoddy angles were doing my head in so today I decided to change it all!
Now I wanted something that would appear minimalistic (barely any visible bits) and allow me to store stuff under the middle monitor.

Initially I used that amazing planning tool MS Paint to mock up what it was going to look like.
That went well...
oWtGmr2.png

I then researched and found a company called Unistrut who make awesome fixings and stuff. Mind went into overdrive just thinking of the possibilities...

This took me to Google SketchUp which allowed me to make a plan that basically involved this.

1 x 60cm arm for the middle
2 x 50cm arms for outer monitors
2 x 60cm arms for the supports which will be fixed to the table
Many fixtures and fittings and nuts and bolts

u23m5Dhh.png.jpg
qF98hvch.png.jpg
So after getting bored of SketchUp (which is insanely hard to use!) I toddled off to a company called Orbital Fasteners in Watford which is a really good DIY shop for all these sorts of things.