PS3 be played on my monitor??

Associate
Joined
20 Oct 2007
Posts
410
Location
Liverpool
Thinkin about gettin a ps3 soon, would love to play it on my monitor, but can i??

here's the specs thats on the monitors webby,

Medion 22"

* Visible screen diagonal 55.8cm
* Brightness typ. 300cd/m2
* Multilingual on screen display
* Integrated power supply
* Low radiation accordingly to TCO 03
* Viewing angle: horizontal 178°/vertical 178°
* Maximum Resolution 1680 × 1050
* Response Time typ = 5ms
* DVI-D and VGA Interface with HDCP Encryption and Automatic Signal Detection
* Contrast Ratio = 1000:1
* 2 Built-in Speakers
* Dimensions: 397 (H) × 524 (W) × 224mm (D)

is it just the case od plugging in a cable to the monitor and away i go?? if so how much would i be lookin at payin for one of these cables?

thanks for the help folks!
 
Soldato
Joined
19 Feb 2004
Posts
15,055
Location
Darlington, UK
It should work fine on your monitor as it's HDCP enabled.

Just grab yourself an HDMI to DVI cable and away you go. Or if your monitor accepts HDMI input just a standard HDMI cable will do.
 
Soldato
Joined
9 Mar 2007
Posts
12,683
Location
Nodnol
all ya need is a dvi _-> hdmi adapter and you're sorted. If your monitor doesn't have 1:1 pixel mapping it will stretch the image a little, but it'll still be miles better than a CRT television.
 
Soldato
Joined
4 Mar 2003
Posts
5,246
Location
Herefordshire
Thing with 1:1 pixel mapping is that most games are <720p. So on a screen with a native resolution of 1680 × 1050 the thing is going to be upscaled anyway, unless you want really big black bars. Being a 16:10 aspect ratio will also make it look quite stretched as I had similar issues with my screen but luckily I can run in aspect mode, which changes it to 16:9.
 
Associate
Joined
20 Oct 2007
Posts
410
Location
Liverpool
right bought to go the shops to buy this,

am i right in thinking that a HDMI to DVI will work??

dont wanna get it and find out that it HAS to be dvi-d

Quick reply needed :D
 

raf

raf

Associate
Joined
25 May 2004
Posts
483
Location
Northamptonshire
I got a Sumnique-PS3 HDMI to DVI cable (PS3) which is dvd-d and it works fine, not certain if it has to be dvi-d but if you can get one that is that'd be your best bet.
 
Associate
Joined
20 Oct 2007
Posts
410
Location
Liverpool
Just bought some package that came with the hdmi cable and this optical cable.

Now need some more help :p

Have got the picture coming through fine, but what do i need to buy now to get the sound working through a set of normal speakers??
 
Top