PS3 problem

Associate
Joined
11 Apr 2006
Posts
482
Location
Derby, East Midlands
One of my PS3s is locking up within a few minutes of being switched on, even after being left off for a long while. No error message, just screen corruption. This machine had being going OK for some weeks 24/7 crunching (it had done 87 WUs. Anyone else had this trouble with a PS3? My other one did lock up as well but since rebooting has been working fine for the last few days.

ms9cw
 
Don
Joined
5 Oct 2005
Posts
11,155
Location
Liverpool
ms9cw said:
One of my PS3s is locking up within a few minutes of being switched on, even after being left off for a long while. No error message, just screen corruption. This machine had being going OK for some weeks 24/7 crunching (it had done 87 WUs. Anyone else had this trouble with a PS3? My other one did lock up as well but since rebooting has been working fine for the last few days.

ms9cw

Tried contacting Sony and telling them they are pants and its effect out FAH average! :)

Stelly
 
Associate
Joined
7 Dec 2005
Posts
1,667
Location
Hartley
ms9cw said:
One of my PS3s is locking up within a few minutes of being switched on, even after being left off for a long while. No error message, just screen corruption. This machine had being going OK for some weeks 24/7 crunching (it had done 87 WUs. Anyone else had this trouble with a PS3? My other one did lock up as well but since rebooting has been working fine for the last few days.

ms9cw

Could be the first sign that PS3's can't cope running fah 24/7?

Time to RMA your PS3 I think :p
 
Last edited:
Don
Joined
5 Oct 2005
Posts
11,155
Location
Liverpool
Windle said:
My PS3 has been on SOLID since release without a single hiccup. However i'm sure Sony will be happy to replace it.

I remember my PS2 being like a month out of warrenty, I called Sony and the replace it out of 'good will'.... or it could be because they want you to buy games as thats how they make their money :)

Stelly
 
Soldato
Joined
17 Jan 2007
Posts
8,944
Location
Manchester
Have you tried a hard reset?

1. Power off the PS3 using the power switch in the back.. and power back on w/ switch.

2. Hold power button on the front until you hear 3 beeps.

3. Go through the initial setup, and then run a full Format via System>format
 
Associate
OP
Joined
11 Apr 2006
Posts
482
Location
Derby, East Midlands
theheyes said:
Have you tried a hard reset?
I only get one beep, followed by a second beep and the unit turining itself off. The PS3 is still doing something when the screen freezes, because I can hold the Power button on and it will go through the shutdown sequence.

Sony offered to replace it for £215 :eek: because I got it off eBay and don't have the original receipt (therefore it's regarded as secondhand).

ms9cw
 
Back
Top Bottom