PSU 12V Rail Low

Associate
Joined
31 Oct 2006
Posts
1,959
So I put together a new rig (budgeting myself quite a bit) this week.

The parts arrived, I built it, it runs fine.

Now and then (only during gaming so far) it reboots. No error messages, nothing in the logs, it just reboots.

I've been watching the voltages whilst gaming for the last hour and at times the 12V Rail fluxuates really heavily when the computer is loaded (getting down as low as 11.215V.

Do you think low voltage could be causing the reboots? Or am I just being paranoid?
 
Associate
OP
Joined
31 Oct 2006
Posts
1,959
Seen it go down to 11.071 now... This is meant to be a 750W PSU and there is nowhere near 750W of load on it...
 
Associate
OP
Joined
31 Oct 2006
Posts
1,959
EVGA GeForce GTX 660 Superclocked 2048MB GDDR5 PCI-Express Graphics Card
AMD Piledriver FX-8 Eight Core 8350 Black Edition 4.00GHz (Socket AM3+) Processor - Retail
Asus M5A99X EVO AMD 990X (Socket AM3+) DDR3 ATX Motherboard
OcUK Swift 750W V2 Silent Power Supply
2x Corsair XMS3 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 PC3-12800C9 1600MHz Dual Channel Kit (CMX8GX3M2A1600C9)
 
Soldato
Joined
23 Mar 2007
Posts
2,553
Location
Essex
what you using to measure the 12v rail voltage? SOftware can be known to take false readings so to be 100% sure if you have a multimeter handy take the 12v reading from the 24 pin plug with a game running and see how it reads.

Does sound like a PSU issue tho going by random reboots when doing intensive taks like gaming
 
Associate
Joined
16 Oct 2010
Posts
2,433
Location
Edinburgh
100% psu mate
get rid pronto and get a seasonic/corsair/xfx like butonz said.
That psu may be able to peak 750w but theres no way under pressure it could sustain it stable.
 
Associate
Joined
22 May 2011
Posts
1,173
Location
Manchester
Underboss
Joined
9 Nov 2005
Posts
10,837
Location
manchester,uk
You have essentially bought a Ferrari and put a Lawnmower engine in it :p
Like everyone else has said, you should change it for a well known brand.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
31 Oct 2006
Posts
1,959
Cheers for that guys. I do plan to SLi in the future so will have to go with a 750W+ but will defo get a good one this time.
 
Soldato
Joined
9 Mar 2009
Posts
2,885
Location
-
I honestly don't understand why ocuk sell these oem BS psus. Tbf their competitors sell these same things with their own name..
 
Associate
OP
Joined
31 Oct 2006
Posts
1,959
So, I was just using the computer for some work stuff (don't really have a choice, I'm an on call systems administrator that needed the computer to VPN into work) and bang (literally) and the computer turns off...

Try to turn back on and the Mobo has LEDs showing on it, but no activity...

Get out the multimeter and the 12V rail is now showing 0V...

OcUK Swift 750W V2 Silent Power Supply - Lifespan <1 week...

Lesson learned, don't cheap out on the PSU...

Because I didn't have a choice as I really need the computer for work... Had to fork over money to the Purple Shirts for a new Antec PSU... Sad day...
 
Soldato
Joined
19 Jan 2010
Posts
6,769
Location
South West
Always, always build a pc around a well known quality branded psu, Corsair,BeQuiet, Antec, etc.
Never use generic psu's, you can & will mostly likely will end up with an expensive bill, replacing motherboard,etc when it fails & takes out other parts.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
31 Oct 2006
Posts
1,959
Yeah, luckily this time there was no collateral damage. Board, CPU, GFX, Disks, etc all look fine...

Just watched the voltage during a game of BF3 and didn't dip below 11.943... Big improvement.
 
Top Bottom